Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
The Royal College of Psychiatrists Improving the lives of people with mental illness

RCPsych Awards 2014 - Shortlists

We are delighted to announce the shortlists for the RCPsych Awards 2014.    Congratulations to all those shortlisted.

The winners will be announced at the RCPsych Awards Ceremony, to be held in London on 6th November 2014.  Further details about the ceremony will be available shortly.


Please note:  The shortlists are shown in alphabetical order only and do not show the winners.



RCPsych Core Psychiatric Trainee of the Year

Dr Trevor Gedeon

Dr Alex Langford

Dr Rebecca McKnight

Dr Musa Sami



RCPsych Higher Psychiatric Trainee of the Year

Dr Sharon Beattie

Dr Rudolf Cardinal

Dr Ian Harwood

Dr Joanne Parry


RCPsych Psychiatric Trainer of the Year

Dr Abu Abraham

Dr Fiona Gaughran

Dr Matthew Hodes

Dr Audrey Morrison


RCPsych Academic Researcher of the Year

Professor David Cotter

Dr Paola Dazzan

Professor David Osborn

Professor Sukhwinder Shergill


RCPsych Public Educator of the Year

Dr Hamed Al Sinawi

Dr Henrietta Bowden-Jones

Dr Hilda Ho

Dr Chetna Kang



RCPsych ServiceUser/Patient Contributor of the Year

Sarah Holmes

Tommy McCorley


RCPsych Carer Contributor of the Year

Jackie Edwards

David Etheridge

Bridget Jones and Matthew McKenzie

Judith Webster


RCPsych Psychiatrist of the Year

Dr Sarah Bernard

Dr Liz McDonald

Dr Matthew Rowett

Professor Michael Sharpe


RCPsych Psychiatric Team of the Year: Children and adolescents

Eating Disorders Intensive Community Treatment Service (EDICT), Northumberland Tyne & Wear NHS Foundation Trust

Intensive Community Outreach Service (ICOS), Heart of England NHS Foundation Trust

Swansea West CAMHS Team, Cwm Taf University Health Board


RCPsych Psychiatric Team of the Year: Working-age adults

Maintaining Adherence Programme (MAP) Team, South Essex Partnership University NHS Foundation Trust

Oak Unit, Emergency Care Liaison, Black Country Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

Sutton Inpatient Team, Ward 3, Springfield Hospital, South West London & St George’s Mental Health NHS Trust



RCPsych Psychiatric Team of the Year: Older-age adults

Care Home In-Reach Team, Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

Kensington & Chelsea and Westminster Memory Service, Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust

Ward G1, Grenoside Grange, Sheffield Health and Social Care NHS Foundation Trust


RCPsych Psychiatric Team of the Year: Non-age specific

Partnerships in Care LD Services, Diss, Norfolk

Psychological Medicine Service, Oxford University Hospitals NHS Trust

RADAR, Greater Manchester West Mental Health Foundation Trust


RCPsych Psychiatric Team of the Year: Outstanding Contribution to Sustainability

Bluebell House Recovery Support Centre, Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

Common Ground, Grow Your Own Project, Lancashire Care NHS Foundation Trust

Greencare for Personality Disorder, Growing Better Lives CIC


RCPsych Medical Student of the Year

Finola Brooke-Williams, University College London

Liana Romaniuk, Edinburgh University

Celia Shiles, Kings College London

Anna Taylor, Bristol University


RCPsych Foundation Doctor of the Year

Dr Roxanne Keynejad

Dr Joseph Malone

Dr Mitesh Patel

Dr Lauren Waterman



RCPsych Specialty Doctor/Associate Specialist of the Year

Dr Jyothi Arayambath

Dr Joyce Kissi

Dr Anup Mathew

Dr Rajesh Rama Iyer


RCPsych Psychiatrist Volunteer of the Year

Dr Mohammed Al-Uzri

Dr Peter Hughes

Dr Manoj Kumar

Dr Sudhir Kumar



Sponsored prizes

Over £2,000 of books and book-vouchers will be presented to RCPsych Award winners.

We are very grateful to publishers Cambridge University Press, Oxford University Press, Wiley, and RCPsych Publications for providing sponsored books and book-voucher prizes.  Each prize will comprise textbooks and/or book-vouchers, to a value of between £400 and £500.


Prizes will be presented to Award winners in the following categories.

  • Core Psychiatric Trainee of the Year
  • Higher Psychiatric Trainee of the Year
  • Psychiatric Trainer of the Year
  • Foundation Trainee of the Year
  • Medical Student of the Year


For enquiries about the Awards, please contact Liz Cowan

Make a Donation


Feedback from last year's  Award winners


How did you prepare for your nomination?

“We had been working hard for the success of the project, and thought it would be a good idea to get recognition for our work. I made sure we were able to show the innovation and the effort we had put into it when we prepared the nomination". 

Dr Manoj Rajagopal, Bryn Hesketh Memory Clinic Team, RCPsych Psychiatric Team of the Year 2013: Older-age adults



What do you think, made you successful in your category?

“I hope it was the fact that we had developed a genuinely innovative treatment programme which had been shown to be effective, and also liked by the patients and their families". 

Dr Andrea Brown, Naomi Unit, The Retreat, York, RCPsych Psychiatric Team of the Year 2013: Working-age adults



What advice would you give to other people who feel that they may be eligible to be entered for such an award?

“Continue to work hard to develop clinical and non-clinical skills. Demonstrate these by taking part in research, audit and service development projects, and gather feedback from patients and colleagues" .

Dr Pamela Bowman, RCPsych Core Psychiatric Trainee of the Year 2013