Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
The Royal College of Psychiatrists Improving the lives of people with mental illness


RCPsych Awards 2009

We are delighted to announce the winners of the inaugural RCPsych Awards

I hope these awards will bring your work the national recognition it so richly deserves and in the process raise staff and service morale, and boost public awareness of excellent mental health services.  It is important that we recognise individuals and providers who are striving hard to deliver services in often difficult circumstances.


My heartfelt congratulations to this year’s winners. For those individuals who were shortlisted but have not been successful, I offer my thanks for your spirit of generosity in allowing your names to go forward and in being part of an exciting event.


Professor Dinesh Bhugra, President


RCPsych Awards




RCPsych Core Psychiatric Trainee of the Year 2009

Dr Ian Harwood

RCPsych Advanced Psychiatric Trainee of the Year 2009

Dr Susham Gupta

RCPsych Psychiatric Academic of the Year 2009

Professor Michael Sharpe

RCPsych Public Educator of the Year 2009

Dr Philip Timms 

RCPsych Mental Health Service Provider of the Year 2009

Oxleas NHS Foundation Trust

RCPsych Psychiatric Team of the Year 2009

The Bridge Substance Misuse Service

RCPsych Medical Manager/Leader of the Year 2009

Dr Ify Okocha

RCPsych Psychiatrist of the Year 2009

Dr David Fearnley

RCPsych Lifetime Achievement Award 2009

Professor Sir David Goldberg


Dr Philip Timms The Bridge Substance Misuse Service
Dr David Fearnley Dr Ian Harwood
Professor Sir David Goldber and Phil Hope MP Dr Ify Okacha 
Dinesh Bhugra, President, with journalist and broadcaster Libby Purves, who hosted the Awards ceremony Phil Hope MP, Minister for Care Services, with Professor Dinesh Bhugra, President.
Professor Michael Sharpe Dr Susham Gupta
Oxleas NHS Foundation Trust auditorium at the RSM, packed to capacity for the Awards ceremony


See a full list of the shortlisted teams and individuals for the RCPsych Awards 2009.


With grateful thanks to our sponsors:


Diamond sponsors 

Gold sponsor

Silver sponsor

Other sponsors

Anonymous donor 

NCI Information Systems Inc

St Andrew’s Healthcare


CHK Charities

Cambridge University Press

Anonymous donor

NCI St Andrew's Healthcare    




Make a Donation