Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
The Royal College of Psychiatrists Improving the lives of people with mental illness

Winners of RCPsych Awards 2010 announced

Embargoed until 17 November 2010

The 10 winners of the second annual RCPsych Awards have been announced at a prestigious ceremony at the Royal Society of Medicine.

The awards mark the highest level of achievement within psychiatry, and are designed to recognise and reward excellent practice in the field of mental health.

The winners of the RCPsych Awards 2010 are:

  • Core Psychiatric Trainee of the Year – Dr Amanda Deren-Jones
  • Advanced Psychiatric Trainee of the Year – Dr Sharon Smith
  • Psychiatric Academic of the Year – Professor John Geddes
  • Public Educator of the Year – Dr Max Pemberton
  • Specialist Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services Provider of the Year – Flintshire Early Intervention & Prevention Team and Flintshire Child & Adolescent Team
  • Mental Health Services Provider of the Year – South Staffordshire & Shropshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
  • Psychiatric Team of the Year – Intensive Home Treatment Team, NHS Lothian
  • Medical Manager/Leader of the Year – Dr John Simpson
  • Psychiatrist of the Year – Dr Michele Hampson
  • Lifetime Achievement Award – Professor Sir Michael Rutter

The awards ceremony, held on 16 November, was hosted by journalist and broadcaster Libby Purves.

Professor Dinesh Bhugra, President of the Royal College of Psychiatrists, said: “Through the RCPsych Awards, we bring national recognition to those individuals and services who are delivering the highest quality care for service users and carers, and who are advancing our understanding of mental illness through research and public education. Once again we were overwhelmed by the quality of entries, and our judging panels had an extremely tough job. On behalf of the College, I offer my heartfelt congratulations to the overall winners as well as the outstanding individuals and brilliant teams who were shortlisted for each category.”

Professor Bhugra paid a special tribute to Professor Sir Michael Rutter, who was presented with the 2010 RCPsych Lifetime Achievement Award. Professor Bhugra said: “Sir Michael has quite simply been one of the most influential psychiatric scientists of his generation. After qualifying in medicine, he embarked on a programme of research and clinical development that transformed child and adolescent psychiatry and, in 1973, became the country’s first ever professor of child and adolescent psychiatry. Sir Michael is a richly deserving winner of the RCPsych Lifetime Achievement Award 2010.”

Nominations for the RCPsych Awards 2011 will open in January.

The RCPsych Awards 2010 were generously sponsored by:

  • Priory Group
  • St Andrew’s Healthcare
  • Cambridge University Press
  • Oxford University Press
  • Wiley-Blackwell

A list of all the individuals and teams who were shortlisted in each category of the RCPsych Awards 2010 is available here.

For further information, please contact:
Sarah Nevins
Press & Social Media Officer
Telephone: 020 3701 2543
Claire McLoughlin
Media & Communications Manager 
Telephone: 020 3701 2544
Out of hours contact number: 07860 755896


Make a Donation