Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
The Royal College of Psychiatrists Improving the lives of people with mental illness

RCPsych Award Winners 2012

Embargoed until 15 November 2012

Psychiatrists and others who have shown excellence in the field of mental health were rewarded at last night’s (14 November) Royal College of Psychiatrists awards ceremony.


RCPsych Awards 2012

Hosted at the Royal Society of Medicine in London, winners from across the country were presented with their awards in ten categories, which for the first time included recognition for mental  service users and carers.

The annual RCPsych Awards, now in their fourth year, mark the highest level of achievement within psychiatry, and are designed to recognise and reward excellent practice in the field of mental health.

Professor Sue Bailey, Professor Eve Johnstone, Allison Pearson  

Professor Sue Bailey, President of the Royal College of Psychiatrists, said: “Competition was very tough, and the judging panels were hugely impressed by the quality of this year’s entries.


“All of the award winners and nominees show the huge professionalism and dedication of psychiatrists, other mental health professionals and service users and carers in helping to improve health and wellbeing.”


The winners in each category were:


  • Core Psychiatric Trainee of the Year - Dr Rory Conn, a junior doctor at St Ann’s Hospital, Harringay, north London
  • Advanced Psychiatric Trainee of the Year - Dr Himanshu Tyagi, a psychiatrist at South West London & St George’s Mental Health NHS Trust
  • Psychiatric Trainer of the Year - Dr Sean Cross, a consultant liaison psychiatrist at the Maudsley, working at St Thomas’ and King’s College hospitals, London
  • Psychiatric Academic/Researcher of the Year - Professor Carmine Pariante, Professor of Biological Psychiatry at the Institute of Psychiatry, London
  • Public Educator of the Year - Dr Ejaz Nazir, a lecturer at Staffordshire University and consultant in old age psychiatry in South Staffordshire and Shropshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
  • Service User Contributor of the Year – jointly awarded to Graham Morgan from Nairn, Inverness-shire, manager of SPIRIT Advocacy, and Maurice Arbuthnott from London, a member of the North London Service User Research Forum and Rethink’s services and resources committee.
  • Carer Contributor of the Year - Valerie Minns, from Briercliffe, near Burnley, an activist/campaigner for Rethink Mental Illness
  • Psychiatric Team of the Year - The Adult Cognitive Assessment and Intervention Team at the Cheshire and Wirral Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
  • Psychiatrist of the Year - Dr Geraldine Strathdee, a consultant psychiatrist at Oxleas NHS Foundation Trust
  • Lifetime Achievement Award - Professor Eve Johnstone CBE from Edinburgh

Nominations for the RCPsych Awards 2013 will open in January.

For further information, please contact:
Sarah Nevins
Press & Social Media Officer
Telephone: 020 3701 2543
Claire McLoughlin
Media & Communications Manager 
Telephone: 020 3701 2544
Out of hours contact number: 07860 755896


Make a Donation