Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
The Royal College of Psychiatrists Improving the lives of people with mental illness

RCPsych Awards 2011

Wednesday, 16 November 2011

Yesterday, almost 300 people crammed into the auditorium at the Royal Society of Medicine for the 3rd annual RCPsych Awards ceremony. The ceremony was expertly hosted by author and actor Maureen Lipman, who told a series of hilarious jokes and anecdotes about blondes, Freud and hemorrhoids.

As many of you will know, the RCPsych Awards were founded by my predecessor, Professor Dinesh Bhugra, back in 2009 to recognise and reward excellence in psychiatry and mental health services. Since then, they’ve become a real highlight of the College calendar.

The entries we received this year were simply outstanding, and once again it was a huge challenge for our judging panels to draw up the shortlists. Being shortlisted for the Awards is a great accomplishment in itself. But in any competition, there have to be winners – and the audience waited excitedly for winners to be announced.

We had many distinguished guests on hand to present the awards, including RCGP President Dr Clare Gerada, National Clinical Director for Mental Health Dr Hugh Griffiths, Daily Mail health editor Jenny Hope, Academy of Medical Royal Colleges chairman Professor Sir Neil Douglas, Medical Education England chairman Professor Sir Christopher Edwards, and former RCPsych Presidents Professor Dinesh Bhugra and Baroness Hollins.

Those of you who follow the College on Twitter will have seen us tweeting the names of the winners yesterday as they were announced. For those who haven't seen them yet, here's the full list of the 2011 winners:

  • Core Psychiatric Trainee of the Year – Dr Charlotte Allan, Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust
  • Advanced Psychiatric Trainee of the Year – Dr Kamran Ahmed, South London & Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust
  • Psychiatric Trainer of the Year – Dr James Warner, Central & North West London NHS Foundation Trust
  • Public Educator of the Year – Dr Peter Byrne, Newham University Hospital NHS Trust
  • Mental Health Services Provider of the Year – Tees, Esk & Wear Valleys NHS Foundation Trust
  • Psychiatric Team of the Year – Family Drug & Alcohol Court Intervention Team, Tavistock and Portman NHS Foundation Trust
  • Medical Manager/Leader of the Year – Dr Angus Bell, Tees, Esk & Wear Valleys NHS Foundation Trust
  • Psychiatrist of the Year – Dr Claire Lawton, Cambridgeshire & Peterborough NHS Foundation Trust
  • Lifetime Achievement Award – Professor Hamid Ghodse CBE FRCPsych

After the ceremony, all the winners, nominees and guests enjoyed a celebratory reception in the RSM's beautiful atrium.

For the winners, I hope the accolade will bring their work national recognition, help to raise staff and service morale, and increase public awareness of how hard mental health staff work every single day to improve the lives of service users and carers.

In these tough economic times, it is not easy to secure sponsorship for events. So I would like to thank all this year’s sponsors for their generosity – many of whom have supported the Awards since their inception:

  • St Andrew’s Healthcare
  • Cambridge University Press
  • Oxford University Press
  • Wiley-Blackwell

Yesterday marked the culmination of the 2011 Awards process – and today preparations start for 2012. A call for entries will be made in January, and we will need your help to spread the word and encourage the most exceptional individuals, teams and services to apply. Keep your eyes out for information in the new year.



Subscribe to this post's comments using RSS


Add a Comment
  • Security Verification:
    Type the numbers you see in the picture below.
    Type the numbers you see in this picture.
Make a Donation