Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
The Royal College of Psychiatrists Improving the lives of people with mental illness

About us

Academic Faculty

The Faculty of Academic Psychiatry aims to promote, facilitate, and stimulate interest in high-quality clinical research and teaching.

Find out more about:


Should you require a copy of any previous newsletters not currently available on the website, please contact Francis Maunze – the College archivist.

How to join

To join a Faculty
Update your Faculty details
(members' login required)

contact us 

You can contact us by emailing Kitti Kottasz, Committee Manager.

Executive Committee


Member Year of joining Position
Prof. Gillian McGauley 2014 (E) Financial Officer
Prof. Kathryn Abel 2014 (E) Committee Member
Dr Sarah Ashurst-Williams 2015 (C) PTC Rep
Prof. Kamaldeep Bhui 2015 (C) Committee Member
Prof. Thomas Burns 2014 (E) Committee Member
Prof. Hugo Critchley 2012 (E) Acting Vice-Chair
Dr Vivienne Curtis 2014 (C) Committee Member
Dr Paola Dazzan 2014 (E) Committee Member
Prof. Thomas Dening 2014 (RRO) Regional Representative
Prof. Michael Fitzgerald 2014 (E) Committee Member
Dr Sophia Frangou 2011 (E) Committee Member
Prof. Guy Goodwin 2012 (C) Committee Member
Dr John Holmes 2014 (RRO) Regional Representative
Prof. Ian Jones 2008 (C) Committee Member
Dr Golam Khandaker 2014 (E) Committee Member
Prof. Ania Korszun 2010 (C) Committee Member
Prof. Stephen Lawrie 2010 (C) Committee Member
Dr Belinda Lennox 2014 (E) Committee Member
Prof. Shon Lewis 2012 (E) Committee Member
Prof. David Linden 2014 (E) Committee Member
Prof. Anne Lingford-Hughes 2011 (E) Acting Chairman
Dr Sean Lynch 2014 (RRO) Regional Representative
Dr Steven Marwaha 2014 (RRO) Regional Representative
Dr Hamish McAllister-Williams 2011 (C) Committee Member
Prof. Michael O'Donovan 2008 (C) Welsh Division
Dr Francis O'Neill 2008 (C) Northern Ireland Representative
Dr Carmine Pariante 2013 (C) Committee Member
Dr Andrew Stanfield 2010 (C) Website Content Editor
Dr Ekkehart Staufenberg 2015 (RRO) Regional Representative
Prof. Malcolm Weller 2014 (C) Neuropsychiatry
Prof. Sir Simon Wessely 2012 (EX) Committee Member
Prof. Peter Woodruff 2015 (C) Immediate Past Chair
Prof. Allan Young 2011 (E) Committee Member

Back to homepage

Make a Donation

Academic Faculty news


The Faculty of Academic Psychiatry and Pathfinder Fellowship Dinner 2016 - details coming soon



Other items

Join the Academic Faculty

To join a Faculty
Update your Faculty details
(members' login required)