Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
The Royal College of Psychiatrists Improving the lives of people with mental illness

Old Age Psychiatry Faculty and Executive Committee

Old Age Psychiatry Faculty  

The Faculty

The Old Age Faculty represents a relatively new specialty and is a dynamic group within the College. Members meet two times a year for educational and developmental purposes. There is an additional, well attended, residential meeting every year.



The Faculty Executive

Much of the day-to-day business of the Faculty is carried out by an Executive Committee of representatives and directly elected officers. 

The Faculty takes primary responsibility within the College for formulating policies on psychiatric services to older people and giving advice to other bodies (including the Department of Health) on matters pertaining to the mental health of older people.

It has an important role in supporting its members through a rich educational programme and by providing personal support and expert advice if members are under particular pressure in their local services.

It also contributes fully to the College’s other activities in maintaining training standards, research, public education and other areas.


Member Year of joining Position
Dr Amanda Thompsell 2016 (E) Chair
Dr Rory O'Shea 2014 (E) Financial Officer
Dr Ben Akande 2016 (E) Vice Chair
Dr Victor Aziz 2013 (C) Welsh Division
Dr Alexander Bailey 2014 (E) Committee Member
Dr Velagapudi Bapuji Rao 2013 (RRO) Regional Representative
Dr Robert Barber 2016 (E) Committee Member
Dr Tim Beanland 2013 (C) Alzheimer's Society
Dr Sarmishtha Bhattacharyya 2015 (O) Newsletter Editor
Dr Deirdre Bonner 2013 (C) Affiliate Representative
Dr Martin Brown 2010 (RRO) Regional Representative
Dr Debbie Browne 2015 (C) Committee Member
Dr David Burke 2016 (E) Committee Member
Dr Martin Carlin 2015 (C) SpR Representative
Mr Tom Gentry 2013 (C) Age UK
Dr Kate Gordon 2016 (E) Committee Member
Dr Anitha Howard 2015 (O) Newsletter Editor
Dr Arun Jha 2014 (E) Committee Member
Dr Ian Johnson 2016 (RRO) Regional Representative
Dr Farooq Khan 2015 (RRO) Regional Representative
Dr Sheena MacKenzie 2010 (RRO) Regional Representative
Dr Mangesh Marudkar 2014 (E) Committee Member
Dr Helen McCormack 2014 (E) Newsletter Editor
Dr Seamus McNulty 2014 (C) Scottish Division
Dr Beata Mougey 2016 (RRO) Regional Representative
Dr Sujoy Mukherjee 2014 (E) Committee Member
Dr Wendy Neil 2012 (RRO) Regional Representative
Dr Pratibha Nirodi 2015 (RRO) Regional Representative
Dr Stephen Orleans Foli 2013 (RRO) Regional Representative
Dr Lionel Peter 2015 (C) PTC Rep
Dr Dewi Pritchard 2015 (RRO) Committee Member
Dr Anandamandiram Ramakrishnan 2012 (RRO) Regional Representative
Dr Gianetta Rands 2016 (C) Committee Member
Dr Jill Rasmussen 2015 (C) RCGP Observer
Dr Kapila Sachdev 2016 (E) Committee Member
Dr Mani Santhanakrishnan 2016 (C) Academic Secretary
Dr Deirdre Shields 2015 (C) Northern Ireland Representative
Dr Velusamy Sivakumar 2014 (E) Committee Member
Dr Fiona Stormont 2011 (RRO) Regional Representative
Dr Srinivas Suribhatla 2016 (E) Committee Member
Dr Maria Velazquez 2016 (RRO) Regional Representative
Dr Shanker Waghray 2010 (RRO) Regional Representative
Dr Michael Walker 2014 (RRO) Regional Representative


Return to homepage

Make a Donation

Latest news

2016 Faculty elections

Following the recent elections, the following have been duly elected to the Old Age Faculty executive committee, to take office from 28 June 2016:

Dr. Amanda Thompsell

Dr. Olu-benga Akande

Executive Committee
Dr. Bob Barber
Professor David Burke
Dr. Catherine Gordon
Dr. Kapila Sachdev
Dr. Srinivas Suribhatla


2016 Current Newsletter:


New report:



How to join the Faculty

To join a Faculty
Update your Faculty details
(members' login required)