Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
The Royal College of Psychiatrists Improving the lives of people with mental illness

Equivalence Committee

About the Equivalence Committee

The Equivalence Committee’s purpose is to assess applications received under the CESR route and send recommendations to the General Medical Council regarding individual applications for Specialist Registration in Psychiatry.

Equivalence committee members are made up from the Specialty Doctor's Committee, the Psychiatric Trainees' Committee and Faculty members representing each psychiatric specialty. CESR Evaluators are also invited to attend committee meetings.

For further information, please view the Committee's remit.



  • Dr H Bruce

Deputy Chairs

  • Dr K Leighton
  • Dr E Fellow-Smith

Committee members

  • Dr R Rama Iyer (Specialty Doctors' Committee)
  • Dr A Bailey (Psychiatric Trainees' Committee)
  • Mr B Hart (Carers' Forum)

CESR Evaluators

CESR applications are evaluated by specially trained College members. If you are interested in becoming a CESR Evaluator, please visit our CESR Evaluators page for more details on the role, eligibility, and upcoming training days.


If you would like to know more about the Equivalence Committee, please contact Kate Medland, CESR and Training Co-ordinator at or on 020 3701 2627.

Last updated: January 2016