Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
The Royal College of Psychiatrists Improving the lives of people with mental illness


Changes to the MRCPsych CASC Examination

Effective January 2018

Candidates are advised that from January 2018 the circuit of 8 ‘link stations’ which normally take place during the morning session will cease to exist..


A new circuit of 8 single stations will be introduced.  This circuit will have 4 minutes to read the instructions and 7 minutes to complete the task. 6 of the stations will have a patient management focus. The remaining 2 stations will have a focus on history taking and examination.


The second circuit of 8 single stations which normally takes place in the afternoon with 90 seconds to read the instructions and 7 minutes to undertake the task remains unchanged.


The 16 CASC station exam will therefore comprise of:

  • 5 stations focused on History Taking
  • 5 stations focused on Examination - both physical and mental state, including risk assessment and capacity assessment.
  • 6 stations focused on patient Management

It should be noted that the CASC Blueprint remains unchanged.


The College reserves the right to change the order in which the circuits are presented. 



Circuit 1
6 x stations focused on Management 1 x station focused on Examination 1 x station focused on History Taking 4 minutes reading  7 minute task 
Circuit 2    4 x stations focused on Examination 4 x stations focused on History Taking 90 seconds reading  7 minute task 


Kate Lovett, Dean

Peter Bowie, Chief Examiner

June 2017




Login - Members Area

If you don't have an account please Click here to Register

Make a Donation

Information Standard 2