Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
The Royal College of Psychiatrists Improving the lives of people with mental illness

About the Faculty of Eating Disorders


About us

Eating Disorders Section and Executive CommitteeThe Council agreed in 2006 that a new College Section in Eating Disorders should be established in place of the Eating Disorders Special Interest Group (EDSIG). The Eating Disorders Section was born in June 2007. 

The EDSIG began life in 1990 as the College Eating Disorders Working Group. This group produced College Council Report CR 14, on eating disorders services in the UK. This survey has recently been updated in collaboration with the Consumers Association and a report published in Health Which.

In the following years, the group collaborated with the Eating Disorders Association in the preparation of their guides to purchasing and providing services and in a large survey of EDA members' views of their treatment. The Special Interest Group was inaugurated at the Annual meeting of the College, in Torquay, 6 July 1995, with Professor Gerald Russell as its first Chair. It brings together psychiatrists working in the field aiming to exchange information and improve services for this often neglected group of patients and their families.

All College Sections became Faculties at the College AGM on 24 June 2014.

To contact the Eating Disorders Section, please email.


Schedule of Executive Committee meetings

Minutes of recent Executive Committee meetings


Should you require a copy of any previous newsletters not currently available on the website, please contact Francis Maunze: – the College Archivist.

Prizes and bursaries

How to join

Membership is open to all members or associates of the College. To join, please complete our online application form or email the College Membership Section.



Executive Committee

Member Year of joining Position
Dr John Morgan 2011 (E) Chair
Dr Charlotte Blewett 2014 (C) PTC Rep
Dr Joan Brunton 2013 (E) Elected Member
Dr Rebecca Cashmore 2011 (E) Elected Member
Dr Philip Crockett 2011 (E) Elected Member
Dr Philippa Hugo 2011 (E) Vice Chair
Dr Izabela Jurewicz 2013 (C) Co-opted Member
Dr Jessica Morgan 2011 (E) Elected Member
Dr Elizabeth Morris 2011 (E) Elected Member
Dr Helen Murphy 2013 (E) Elected Member
Dr Carolyn Nahman 2013 (E) Elected Member
Dr Sonu Sharma 2013 (E) Elected Member
Dr Christine Vize 2011 (E) Elected Member



Back to homepage

Make a Donation