Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
The Royal College of Psychiatrists Improving the lives of people with mental illness

About us

Academic Faculty The Faculty of Academic Psychiatry aims to promote, facilitate, stimulate interest in high quality clinical research and teaching.


Find out more about:

Executive Committee

Member  Year of joining  Position 

Professor Peter Woodruff

2009 Chair
Professor Anne Lingford-Hughes 2011 Vice-Chair

Professor Paul Harrison


Finance Officer

Dr George Crowther 2013 Co-opted (PTC representative)
Professor Stephen Lawrie 2010


Professor Nisha Dogra 2010 Elected
Professor Klaus Ebmeier 2010 Elected
Professor John Geddes 2010 Elected
Professor Sonia Johnson 2010 Elected
Professor Ian Jones 2008 Co-opted
Professor Ania Korszun 2010 Co-opted
Professor John O’Brien 2010 Elected
Professor Michael O’Donovan 2008 Co-opted
Dr Tony O’Neill 2008 Co-opted

Professor Swaran Singh



Dr Daniel Smith 2007 Co-opted
Dr Andrew Stanfield 2010 Website Content Editor
Dr Sophia Frangou 2011 Elected
Dr Sukhwinder Shergill 2011 Co-opted

Professor Allan Young

2011 Elected
Professor Tony Holland 2007 Co-opted
Professor Hamish McAllister-Williams 2011 Co-opted
Professor Guy Goodwin 2012 Co-opted
Professor Simon Wessely 2012 Co-opted
Professor Shon Lewis 2012 Elected
Professor Hugo Critchley 2012 Elected
Professor Peter Jones 2013 Co-opted
Professor Carmine Pariante 2013 Co-opted
Dr Howard Ring 2013 Co-opted
Dr Paul Wilkinson 2013 Co-opted

Back to homepage

Make a Donation


Position statements


Business meeting minutes



Should you require a copy of any previous newsletters not currently available on the website, please contact Francis Maunze – the College archivist.


How to join: 


Contact us: