Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
The Royal College of Psychiatrists Improving the lives of people with mental illness

The Faculty of Forensic Psychiatry Executive Committee

 The Faculty of Forensic Psychiatry Executive Committee

About us

The Forensic Executive Committee is the College representative body for the Faculty of Forensic Psychiatry. The Executive committee consists of a Chair, a Vice Chair a Financial Officer and 12 elected members.

Elected Members serve a four year term of office. Members are also co-opted on to the committee to complete a piece of work or represent an area of interest such as Forensic trainees, the independent sector, specialty doctors, service users and carers and the national jurisdictions.Regional Representatives are invited to attend Executive Committee meetings. The Chairman represents the Faculty on the College Council. Elections take place on a two year cycle.

 * Executive Committee list

 * Committee member duties

 * Meetings


Meetings of the Forensic Executive Committee

The Executive Committee meets quarterly. Meetings are held in London at the Royal College of Psychiatrists except for the first meeting of each year which is held with the Faculty Annual Residential Meeting.  

For further information please contact: Stella Galea, Committee Manager


Committee members duties

As a minimum, Committee members are expected to:

  • Attend all Executive Committee meetings unless there are exceptional circumstances (or annual leave).
  • Read and comment on papers tabled for meetings.
  • Join working groups from time to time including taking lead roles.
  • Inform the chair if unable to fulfil the elected role that has been bestowed on them by forensic faculty members.

Full job descriptions of of Committee members (Chair, Vice Chair, Financial Officer and elected member) can be viewed here.



Executive Committee list


Year of joining


Professor Pamela Taylor



Dr Tom Clark


Financial Officer

Dr Amanda Taylor


Vice chair

Dr Sophia Anwar


Elected committee member


Mr Maurice Arbuthnott 2015 Co-opted committee member
Dr John Baird 2014 Elected committee member
Dr Vivek Bisht 2016 Elected committee member

Mrs Evelyn Bitcon

2013 Co-opted committee member
Dr Harm Boer 2015 Co-opted committee member

Dr Richard Bunn



Co-opted Committee Member, representing the RCPsych in Northern Ireland

Dr John Crichton 2013 Co-opted Committee member, representing the RCPsych in Scotland

Professor Nigel Eastman



Co-opted committee member


Dr Paul Gilluley 



Co-opted committee member


Dr Quazi Haque



Independent Sector Representative


Dr Oliver White



Representative for the Adolescent Forensic SIG

Dr Tim McInerny 2016 Elected committee member
Dr Ronan McIvor 2016 Elected committee member
Dr Sandeep Mathews 2016  Elected committee member
Dr Paula Murphy 2014

Elected committee member

Dr Kathryn Naylor



Representative for Specialty Doctors


Dr Srikanth Nimmagadda 2014

Elected committee member

Dr Richard Noon 2014

Elected committee member

Dr Aideen O’Halloran



Co-opted committee member

Dr David Reiss 2013

Chair of Faculty Education & Curriculum Committee

Professor Jennifer Shaw


Academic lead

Dr Ed Silva



Co-opted committee member


Dr Shubulade Smith 2014 Elected committee member
Dr Richard Taylor 2014 Elected committee member

Dr Roland Jones


Representative for RC Psych in Wales


Dr Tom Wynne and Dr Asha Khambaita


Trainee Representatives


Dr Emma Hogan


Psychiatric Trainees Committee Representative



  • Service users and Carers are represented on the Executive Committee.
  • Regional Representatives are invited to attend Executive Committee meetings.


Back to top

Back to homepage

Make a Donation

Latest news


CONFERENCE: Faculty of Forensic Psychiatry Annual Conference

1-3 March 2017, Madrid


CONFERENCE: Forensic Psychiatry Trainees Conference 2016

13 & 14 October 2016, Cardiff

Unfortunately College staff are unable to help with queries about the trainees conference, contact details can be found by following the link.


SEMINAR: Bildungswerk Irsee Seminar

15-19 August 2016


FACULTY REPORT: Forensic care pathways for adults with intellectual disability involved with the criminal justice system


REPORT: Working with MAPPA: guidance for psychiatrists in England and Wales





Upcoming events

See all events

Join this network:

Join the faculty

To join a Faculty
Update your Faculty details
(members' login required)