Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
The Royal College of Psychiatrists Improving the lives of people with mental illness

Executive Committee Members and Regional Representatives

The Chair's message - Dr Lenny Cornwall

Welcome to the Faculty of General Adult Psychiatry. General Adult Psychiatrists make up 40% of the psychiatrists working in the UK and the Faculty of General Adult Psychiatry is the route by which our views are represented in the College and beyond.

Our numbers and our workloads mean that we are the backbone of Psychiatry in the services in which we work and it is therefore important that this perspective is represented through the structures of the College and more widely.

Clinical networks

The Faculty needs an engaged and vocal membership and these pages are intended to provide an understanding of the College structures and how we relate to them. The faculty has a number of Clinical Networks broadly organised around areas of interest:

Join a network

It is easy to join these. Just email our Faculty Manager, David Winks at and begin to join in the conversations. The faculty is led by an Executive Committee which consists of elected and co-opted members.

Discussion points

The Faculty is committed to the delivery of comprehensive, high quality secondary care mental health services and sees the role of well trained and well supported psychiatrists as central to this goal.

By promoting the importance of our everyday work, the Faculty seeks to support all its members as they continue to show great commitment to their patients, their patients’ families and the communities in which they work even during times of financial pressure and constraint. 

General Adult Psychiatrists are skilled in the management of complexity and risk and these skills are of immense benefit to the people who we see and the organisations and communities in which we work. As a Faculty we need to understand the challenges we all face, as well as the successes we achieve.

All members of the Faculty are part of this and the Faculty wants to continue to support our members vigorously in the work they do.

Issues for the next year include:

  • Continuing to promote the concept of parity of esteem for mental health
  • Promoting the importance of compassion as the central value for our work
  • Promoting the importance of addressing the physical health of our patients
  • Enabling effective engagement with commissioners
  • Contributing to developing ideas around the future of training (Shape of Training)
  • Contributing to the search for solutions to the challenges facing Acute Care.

The Clinical Networks provide a forum to discuss many of these issues and the Faculty welcomes a broad discussion around each one of them – what works well, how things have changed for the better and the difficulties that services face at times. All of us at every level can lead and the Faculty exists to encourage us all to see that we can do this.

Executive members

Member Year of joining Position
Dr Lenny Cornwall 2015 (E) Chair
Dr Safi Afghan 2015 (E) Financial Officer
Dr Asif Bachlani 2013 (E) Elected Member
Dr William Boland 2013 (E) Elected Member
Dr Anna Cosslett 2013 (A) Affiliate Representative
Dr Helen Crimlisk 2015 (C) Co-opted Member
Dr Oliver Dale 2016 (C) Co-opted Member
Dr Sudipto Das 2015 (E) Elected Member
Dr Subodh Dave 2015 (C) Co-opted Member
Dr Michael Doherty 2015 (E) Elected Member
Dr Savithasri Eranti 2013 (E) Elected Member
Dr Marcella Fok 2016 (C) Co-opted Member
Dr Nora Gribbin 2016 (C) Co-opted Member
Prof. Reinhard Heun 2013 (E) Elected Member
Dr Alexander Langford 2016 (C) SpR Representative
Dr Iain Macmillan 2015 (E) Elected Member
Dr Andrea Malizia 2013 (E) Elected Member
Dr Balarao Oruganti 2015 (C) Co-opted Member
Dr Paul Rowlands 2015 (E) Vice Chair
Dr Jonathan Scott 2015 (E) Elected Member
Dr Faisil Sethi 2013 (E) Elected Member
Dr Michael Srinivasan 2013 (E) Elected Member
Dr Paul Stokes 2015 (C) Academic Secretary
Dr Stuart Watson 2013 (C) Academic Secretary
Dr Bernadette Wilkinson 2015 (E) Elected Member
Dr Rashid Zaman 2013 (C) Co-opted Member


Higher Trainee Representative

The GAF executive committee also has an elected Higher Trainee representative. They attend GAF executive meetings and the annual strategy day, take part in a working group, and organise the trainee meeting at the GAF conference. The length of term is 1 year.

Login - Members Area

If you don't have an account please Click here to Register

Make a Donation


Public Mental Health Conference

Vacancies arising in 2017

Vice-Chair and Executive Committee Members:

Accreditation for Community Mental Health Services (ACOMHS)

ACOMHS, an initiative of the College Centre for Quality Improvement, sets standards for, and reviews, community mental health services.


Faculty reports



Good Practice Support Tool for Physical Health: Oxleas NHS Foundation Trust Medium Secure Unit Smoke Free Programme - Bracton Centre Smoking Cessation Strategy

Join the Faculty

To join the faculty a members' login is required.