Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
The Royal College of Psychiatrists Improving the lives of people with mental illness

About us - Faculty of Liaison Psychiatry

Liaison Faculty - Brain scan



The Liaison Psychiatry Poster Prize will be advertised with the residential meeting call for papers each year.


How to join

Anyone wishing to join the Faculty of Liaison Psychiatry should contact the Membership Office.


Contact us

Email the Liaison Psychiatry Committee Manager Stella Galea.


About the Liaison Faculty

Until the 1970s, specific liaison psychiatry services were virtually unknown in Britain. A
small number of specialised consultant posts were then established but there was no officially recognised body to represent liaison psychiatry.

Informal discussions between
interested clinicians took place in the early 1980s and a consensus emerged that liaison psychiatry would be best served by establishing a group within the College.

A preliminary meeting was held during the College quarterly meeting in Oxford in 1983 followed by a further meeting during the AGM in Edinburgh in 1984. The College then agreed to recognise Liaison Psychiatry as a special interest group and it became a Faculty in 1997.

Liaison Psychiatry is a GMC recognised subspecialty of General Psychiatry.

The Liaison Psychiatry Executive Committee is the College representative body for the Faculty. The Executive Committee consists of a Chair, a Vice Chair a Financial Officer and 12 elected members.

Elected Members serve a four year term of office. Members are also co-opted on to the committee to complete a piece of work or represent an area of interest such as trainees, service users and carers and the national jurisdictions. The Chairman represents the Faculty on the College Council. Elections take place on a two year cycle and eligible College members will receive invitations to submit nominations and vote.

The Executive Committee meets regularly and holds an annual strategy day. The committee contributes to all aspects of College work relevant to the specialty including training, policy and public engagement.

Members have also established links with other Royal Colleges and Faculties and have contributed to cross-specialty work. The Executive holds a residential meeting annually.



List of Executive


Member Year of joining Position
Dr Peter Aitken 2013 (E) Chair
Dr Alastair Santhouse 2013 (E) Vice Chair
Dr Laurine Hanna 2015 (E) Financial Officer
Dr Hosakere Aditya 2015 (C) Committee Member
Mr David Ainsworth 2014 (C) Committee Member
Dr Elena Baker-Glenn  2015 (C)  Co-opted Member
Dr James Bolton 2013 (C) Committee Member
Dr Sarah Burlinson 2015 (E) Committee Member
Ms Katherine Chartres 2014 (C) Co-opted Member
Dr Janet Butler 2013 (E) Committee Member
Dr Hannah Driver 2016 (C) PTC representative
Dr Sarah Eales 2014 (C) Co-opted Member
Dr Adrian Flynn 2015 (C) Co-opted Member
Dr Panthratan Grewal 2013 (E) Committee Member
Prof. Elspeth Guthrie 2009 (C) Co-opted Member
Dr Khalida Ismail 2012 (C) Committee Member
Dr Christopher Hilton 2014 (C) Co-opted Member
Prof Allan House 2014 (C) Co-opted Member
Dr Geoff Lawrence-Smith 2015 (C) Co-opted Member
Prof Eileen Joyce 2015 (C) Co-opted Member
Dr William Lee 2013 (E) Committee Member
Dr Aaron McMeekin 2015 (E) Committee Member
Dr Marc Mandell 2015 (E) Committee Member
Ms Nicola Wilson 2013 (C) Committee Member
Dr Sridevi Mahalingappa 2014 (C) Co-opted Member
Dr Joanne Minay 2012 (C) RCPsych in Northern Ireland
Dr Colm Owens 2011 (C) Academic Secretary
Dr Thirza Pieters 2011 (C) Faculty Education Committee
Dr Stephen Potts 2015 (C) RC Psych in Scotland
Dr Annabel Price 2013 (E) Committee Member
Dr Ankush Singhal 2011 (C) Co-opted Member
Dr Nikki Scheiner 2015 (C) Co-opted Member
Dr Chris Schofield 2015 (C) Co-opted member
Dr Abhijeeth Shetty 2016 (C) Co-opted member
Dr Luke Solomons 2015 (E) Committee Member
Dr Geraldine Swift 2013 (E) Committee Member
Dr Tayyeb Tahir 2011 (C) RC Psych in Wales
Dr Peter Trigwell 2013 (E) Committee Member
Dr Nora Turjanski 2015 (C) Co-opted Member
Dr Edwina Williams 2011 (C) Academic Secretary
Login - Members Area

If you don't have an account please Click here to Register

Make a Donation
Latest News



Upcoming events

See all events

Faculty of Liaison Psychiatry annual conference 2017


10 -12 May 2017, London


Faculty Report

Framework for routine outcome measurement in Liaison Psychiatry



Contributions for the summer 2017 newsletter should be received by 1 May 2017.  Submissions should be on matters relevant to liaison psychiatry including reports on service development, education, training, audits, conferences and events. Articles should be no more than 1-2 pages long. Please include your name, title, place of work and contact details. If you would like to contribute to our next editions please e-mail


JISC Update: 

The RCPsych Paediatric Liaison Network

The RCPsych Paediatric Liaison Network is an international group of child and adolescent psychiatrists who work with paediatric staff. We discuss clinical and non-clinical issues, particularly policy and the promotion of mental health in paediatric practice. We meet in conferences in various UK locations twice a year.  If you are interested in joining, contact the group c/o Stella Galea, committee manager.

Get involved:

If you would like to contribute anything to this section, please send us material which you would like to share with others. 

Join the Faculty

To join a Faculty
Update your Faculty details
(members' login required)