Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
The Royal College of Psychiatrists Improving the lives of people with mental illness

Meeting agendas


Terms of reference

Purpose of the Committee

The purpose of the Psychopharmacology Committee is to ensure that the College’s policy and guidance in the field of psychopharmacology remains up to date and reflects best practice.  The members of the committee will provide a focus of Psychopharmacology expertise in the College.


Aims of the Committee

  • The Psychopharmacology Committee will lead on College guidance and advice on issues concerning Psychopharmacology, working as appropriate with Faculties and Sections.

  • The committee will work closely with the Centre for Advanced Learning and Conferences to formulate and assist in the delivery of training courses and conferences in the field of Psychopharmacology.

  • The committee will identify experts in the different fields of Psychopharmacology who can give advice and, as necessary, speak to the media on issues concerning Psychopharmacology.

  • The committee will assist in policy development to ensure that there is an appropriate balance in College policy between psychopharmacological, psychological and social interventions.

  • The committee will assist the Policy Unit in responding to consultations concerning psychopharmacological issues and take the lead in certain key areas.

  • The committee will communicate with the public about issue concerning Psychopharmacology.

  • The committee will contribute to the curriculum and RCPsych exams.

  • The committee will engage the trainees in its work, by liaising with the Psychiatric Trainees Committee.



The Committee will be a Committee reporting to Council.  The Chair of the Committee will attend Council at least once a year to provide a report on the work of the Committee.  The committee will work closely with the Policy Unit and it is expected that the Chair or a representative of the committee will attend and contribute to the Policy Committee.



  • Chair appointed for a term of up to 5 years.

  • Six members will be appointed following advertisement and interview for a 4 year term

  • Up to three co-opted members with particular expertise in Psychopharmacology

  • Representative of the Psychiatric Trainees Committee

  • Registrar ex officio

  • User representative

  • Carer representative


Regulation change to effect the establishment of this Committee

Regulation XIX B Special Committees

A General or Special Meeting or any meeting of the Council may appoint Special Committees for any special purpose which is consistent with the Bye-Laws.  The status of individual Special Committees shall be reviewed by the Council every five years.

Among the Special Committees there shall be the following Committees:

  1. Specialty Doctors

  2. ECT and Related Treatments

  3. Informatics

  4. International Advisory Committee

  5. Professional Practice and Ethics

  6. College Centre for Quality Improvement (CCQI) Governance Board

  7. Leadership and Management

  8. Insert: Psychopharmacology


Return to Psychopharmacology Committee


Login - Members Area

If you don't have an account please Click here to Register

Make a Donation