Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
The Royal College of Psychiatrists Improving the lives of people with mental illness

Board of Trustees


What is the board responsible for?


The board decides on the biggest issues affecting the College including:

  • How we use our resources
  • How we manage, run projects and make decisions
  • The service we provide to members
  • The setting up of faculties
  • Disciplinary issues and complaints.


Some of these decisions are taken on the recommendation of our Council.


The board can delegate responsibility to its committees, the Chief Executive or senior members of staff. Resolutions passed by committees must be endorsed by the board.


The Committees of the Board of Trustees are:


Who is on the board?

Chair (President)

Prof Wendy Burn


Dr Adrian James


Dr Kate Lovett


Dr Jan Falkowski

Division chair (elected from chairs)

Dr Louise Sell

Faculty chair (elected from chairs)

Dr Dasha Nicholls

College member (elected)

Dr Gwen Adshead

Lay trustee (appointed)

Malcolm Basing

Lay trustee (appointed)

Anita Bharucha

Lay trustee (appointed)

Nigel Jones


Agendas and minutes

The Agendas and minutes for Board of Trustees meetings are published in the Members section of the website.

Login - Members Area

If you don't have an account please Click here to Register

Make a Donation

Trustees Only