

# **Report of Voting**

#### THE ROYAL COLLEGE OF PSYCHIATRISTS

#### **COLLEGE ELECTIONS 2020-2021**

**CLOSE OF VOTING: 12PM ON 13 JANUARY 2021** 

## **CONTEST: Election of Dean**

The election was conducted using the single transferable vote electoral system.

The following candidate was elected:

ELECTED	
Professor Subodh DAVE	

Number of eligible voters		15,268
Votes cast by post:	9	
Votes cast online:	3,755	
Total number of votes cast:		3,764
Turnout:		24.7%
Number of votes found to be blank in respect to		87
this contest:		
Total number of valid votes to be counted:		3,677

#### **CONTEST: Election of Treasurer**

ELECTED	
Professor John CRICHTON	

Number of eligible voters		15,268
Votes cast by post:	9	
Votes cast online:	3,755	
Total number of votes cast:		3,764
Turnout:		24.7%
Number of votes found to be blank in respect to		493
this contest:		
Total number of valid votes to be counted:		3,271



# **CONTEST: Child and Adolescent Faculty – Chair**

The election was conducted using the single transferable vote electoral system.

The following candidate was elected:

ELECTED	
Dr Elaine LOCKHART	

Number of eligible voters		3,300
Votes cast by post:	3	
Votes cast online:	640	
Total number of votes cast:		643
Turnout:		19.5%
Number of votes found to be blank in respect to		85
this contest:		
Total number of valid votes to be counted:		558

# **CONTEST: Child and Adolescent Faculty – Vice-Chair**

ELECTED	
Professor Alka S AHUJA	

Number of eligible voters		3,300
Votes cast by post:	3	
Votes cast online:	640	
Total number of votes cast:		643
Turnout:		19.5%
Number of votes found to be blank in respect to		147
this contest:		
Total number of valid votes to be counted:		496



# **CONTEST: General Adult Faculty - Executive Committee Member**

The election was conducted using the single transferable vote electoral system.

The following candidates were elected (in order of election):

ELECTED
Professor Sonia JOHNSON
Dr Joanne FARROW
Dr Joan RUTHERFORD
Dr Jeya BALAKRISHNA
Dr Clare Louise MORGANS
Dr Mudasir FIRDOSI
Dr Mosun FAPOHUNDA
Dr Tim ALNUAMAANI

Number of eligible voters		8,316
Votes cast by post:	3	
Votes cast online:	1,838	
Total number of votes cast:		1,841
Turnout:		22.1%
Number of votes found to be blank in respect to		276
this contest:		
Total number of valid votes to be counted:		1,565

# **CONTEST: Liaison Faculty - Executive Committee Member**

The election was conducted using the single transferable vote electoral system.

The following candidates were elected (in order of election):

ELECTED
Professor Liz SAMPSON
Dr Chloe BEALE
Dr Amrit E SACHAR
Dr Isabel MCMULLEN
Dr Sanjukta DAS
Dr Murray SMITH
Dr Mutaz HUSSAIN

Number of eligible voters		4,246
Votes cast by post:	0	
Votes cast online:	999	
Total number of votes cast:		999
Turnout:		23.5%
Number of votes found to be blank in respect to		252
this contest:		
Total number of valid votes to be counted:		747



## **CONTEST: RCPsych in Northern Ireland - Vice-Chair**

The election was conducted using the single transferable vote electoral system.

The following candidate was elected:

ELECTED		
Dr Stephen MOORE		

Number of eligible voters		360
Votes cast by post:	1	
Votes cast online:	121	
Total number of votes cast:		122
Turnout:		33.9%
Number of votes found to be blank in respect to		0
this contest:		
Total number of valid votes to be counted:		122

#### **CONTEST: Eastern Division - Executive Committee Member**

The election was conducted using the single transferable vote electoral system.

The following candidates were elected (in order of election):

ELECTED
Dr Sepehr HAFIZI
Dr Praveen Kumar GANDAMANENI

Number of eligible voters		836
Votes cast by post:	1	
Votes cast online:	255	
Total number of votes cast:		256
Turnout:		30.6%
Number of votes found to be blank in respect to		41
this contest:		
Total number of valid votes to be counted:		215

## **CONTEST: South Eastern Division - Chair**

ELECTED	
Professor Rafey FARUQUI	



Number of eligible voters		1,419
Votes cast by post:	1	
Votes cast online:	305	
Total number of votes cast:		306
Turnout:		21.6%
Number of votes found to be blank in respect to		39
this contest:		
Total number of valid votes to be counted:		267

#### **CONTEST: Middle Eastern Division - Chair**

The election was conducted using the single transferable vote electoral system.

The following candidate was elected:

ELECTED
Dr Ovais WADOO

Number of eligible voters		222
Votes cast by post:	0	
Votes cast online:	90	
Total number of votes cast:		90
Turnout:		40.5%
Number of votes found to be blank in respect to		5
this contest:		
Total number of valid votes to be counted:		85

## **CONTEST: South Asian Division - Chair**

ELECTED		
Dr T Manoj KUMAR		

Number of eligible voters		316
Votes cast by post:	0	
Votes cast online:	89	
Total number of votes cast:		89
Turnout:		28.2%
Number of votes found to be blank in respect to		3
this contest:		
Total number of valid votes to be counted:		86

#### CONFIDENTIAL



## **CONTEST: Volunteering & International SIG - Chair**

The election was conducted using the single transferable vote electoral system.

The following candidate was elected:

ELECTED	
Dr Anis AHMED	

Number of eligible voters		2,293
Votes cast by post:	0	
Votes cast online:	605	
Total number of votes cast:		605
Turnout:		26.4%
Number of votes found to be blank in respect to		137
this contest:		
Total number of valid votes to be counted:		468

The result sheets for each election form the Appendix to this report. They detail:-

- the quota required for election
- each candidate's voting figures, and
- the stage at which successful candidates were elected.

Civica Election Services can confirm that, as far as reasonably practicable, every person whose name appeared on the electoral roll supplied to us for the purpose of the ballot:-

- a) was sent the details of the ballot and
- b) if they chose to participate in the ballot, had their vote fairly and accurately recorded.

All voting material will be stored for twelve months.

CIVICA ELECTION SERVICES