AIMS is a collaboration between the Royal College of Psychiatrists, the British Psychological Society, the College of Occupational Therapists, the Royal College of Nursing and (for AIMS-PICU) the National Association of Psychiatric Intensive Care Units and Low Secure Units (NAPICU).

The AIMS-WA/AT process is managed and governed by several staff and committees:

Advisory Group

Experts from across acute in-patient wards and services are directly involved in providing advice regarding AIMS-WA/AT, and the ongoing review and development of the standards.

Current AG members are:

  • Mrs Ellie Walsh (Chair) – Assistant Director, Adult Acute/Rehabilitation MHS
  • Mr Andrew Bailey – Carer Representative
  • Ms Polly Blaydes – Trust AHP Professional Lead/Recovery Services Advisor
  • Dr Rachael Hall – Consultant Psychiatrist
  • Dr John Hanna – Clinical Psychologist
  • Mr Chris Wright – Service User Representative

AIMS Accreditation Committee (AC)

The AIMS Accreditation Committee makes decisions about the accreditation status of each service that is reviewed under the programme.

Current AC members are: 

  • Dr Trevor Turner (Chair) - Consultant Psychiatrist
  • Ms Polly Blaydes – Trust AHP Professional Lead and Recovery Services Advisor
  • Mr John Copping - Carer Representative
  • Mr Derek Cragg - Service User Representative
  • Mr Nick Nalladorai - Carer Representative
  • Mr Chris Wright - Service User Representative 

The AIMS Team

Contact the AIMS team.

Back to the AIMS homepage.

Download our joining form. (pdf)

Read our terms and conditions. (pdf)

Get in contact to receive further information regarding a career in psychiatry