RCPsych in NI Members' news

RCPsych NI's Heather scoops psychiatrist of the year accolade

Heather Hanna

Above: Heather pictured at the ceremony with Dr Ken Courtney.   

The College's awards for 2018 took place in Prescot Street on 7 November. Over 300 guests attended the event, which was hosted by BBC's Victoria Derbyshire, and the judges were hugely impressed by the quality of entries received for each category.

The College in Northern Ireland was particularly honoured that Dr Heather Hanna received the Psychiatrist of the Year accolade.

The judges said: “We were particularly delighted that this year’s winner is from Northern Ireland. Dr Heather Hanna’s impressive energy and drive enabled her to set up an innovative and well-regarded service for children and young people." 

Dr Gerry Lynch commented: “This is fantastic news and a well-deserved award, Heather is a great ambassador for Psychiatry in Northern Ireland.”

Dr Bernadka Dubicka, chair of the Child and Adolescent Faculty, added "Very well done to Dr Hanna and to Northern Ireland!", while local chair, Dr Richard Wilson said, "Amazing for Heather to receive this accolade for her work carried out with such great energy, passion and positive effect."

Heather is a Consultant Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist, and Clinical Lead for Northern Ireland’s first and only fully integrated CAMH Service for children and young people with Intellectual Disability.

Heather pioneered the concept of equality of access to CAMHS for these children and young people in Northern Ireland, leading on strategic improvement at a regional and national level. Her service is recognised for its innovation, outcomes and child-centred approaches.

Research, Audit and Quality Improvement Day

The McCracken Suite in Clifton House was at full capacity on Wednesday 26 September as we hosted our annual Research, Audit and Quality Improvement Day.

Now in its 21st year, the event showcased the excellent work of RCPsych NI trainees across the categories. Chaired by Professor Ciaran Mulholland, who had been the recipient of the inaugural research award in 1997, the nominees for the research category were first to present. The standard was of the highest order as Drs John O’Hare, Emma Cunningham and Niall Corrigan delivered excellent presentations and answered delegates' questions in a most assured manner.

The Audit/QI category saw six entrants - Drs Rosanna Moore, Keira Walsh, Lizzy Donaghy, Michael Warren, Vivian Sing and Graeme Young - and, again, the standard of information provided and the level of engagement with those in attendance was excellent.

Dr Gerry Lynch with Dr Vivian SingDrs Aidan Turkington, Ruth Barr and Conor Barton had the difficult task of judging the presentations which had reflected a lot of hard work, energy and commitment from those who took part. The ultimate winners were Dr Vivian Sing (pictured above with Dr Lynch) (Audit/Quality Improvement) and Dr Niall Corrigan (Research).

Guest Speaker Dr Derek Tracy, Senior Lecturer, King’s College gave a fascinating talk on 'Becoming human: the evolution of consciousness across 200 million years' which captivated the audience’s attention.

Later, he commented on the standard of presentations by the trainees, "The presentations were certainly outstanding today and the trainees were a credit to themselves and to their training and ongoing support and mentoring - there was much inspiration for me to take back to London."

Raising a Glass to our New Fellows

New Fellows

It was a red-letter day on 14 June for the College in Northern Ireland as seven local members were appointed Fellows at a gala event in London. This accolade recognises a member's significant contribution to psychiatry and to the core principles of the Royal College.

Dr Richard Wilson commented that the accolade had made him "very proud" and he had been privileged to be able to connect on the evening with a range of colleagues from around the world.

Speaking at the event, Dr Heather Hanna, said, "It was truly inspiring to share the day with psychiatrists from all over the world. Our profession has much to offer to medicine and society when we put our minds to it. The work of the College in supporting and promoting that remains crucial."

Dr Damien Hughes said, "It was truly an honour to be part of a lovely occasion". Individual achievement was certainly recognised, but the evening was also about showcasing and celebrating the role that the College and its members play in developing excellence and promoting best practice in mental health services across the globe."

Pictured with President Professor Wendy Burn are Drs Richard Wilson, Deirdre Shields, Heather Hanna, Lisheen Cassidy and Damien Hughes.

In addition to those pictured, both Dr Marietta Cunningham and Conor Barton were successful in their application for Fellowship.

Details on how to become a Fellow of the College can be found on our membership pages.

The Late Dr Gordon MacCallum, FRCPsych

The College was saddened to hear of the passing of former Vice President Dr Gordon MacCallum on 27 May.

Born on 3 February 1931, Dr MacCallum worked in psychiatry for almost 40 years and was based mainly at the former Purdysburn Hospital, now Knockbracken Healthcare Park.

Throughout his career he was a tireless advocate of Liaison Psychiatry and a true champion of the College. His proudest achievement came when he was elected as Vice-President of the College in 1986 and served also as Chair of the NI Division during the 1980s.

Dr MacCallum passed away on 27 May 2018 in Killinchy, County Down. Vice Chair Dr Michael Doherty represented the College at his funeral service at Roselawn Cemetery.

Welcoming our New Members to the College

New Members

On 6 June we were pleased to formally welcome our New Members’ at a reception held in Clifton House. The reception was part of our summer celebrations for 2018 and the new Trainees were joined by a host of colleagues from across the profession. We wish our trainees well in the future as their careers progress.

Our new members are Drs Catherine Gillanders, Amy Grimason, Pamela Hamlyn, Camille Hart, Claire McLoughlin, Zoe Moore, Claire Potter, Jennifer Preston, Stephanie Redpath, Patrick Renshaw and Chris Sharkey.

Read the response

Get in contact to receive further information regarding a career in psychiatry