RCPsych Awards 2021

The achievements of College members and others who have been working in mental health during another challenging year were recognised at our recent online ceremonies.

The two annual ceremonies were held the same day, with the President’s medals and Honorory Fellowships event taking place shortly before the RCPsych Awards.

President’s medals and Honorary Fellowships

President Dr Adrian James and Registrar Dr Trudi Seneviratne hosted the online event and introduced each recipient who then gave an acceptance speech.

Each year the President and the nomination committee nominates up to seven medal winners and up to five Honorary fellows.

The Honorary Fellowship award is the highest accolade that the College can give members and it’s presented to individuals who have demonstrated distinguished service to humanity in relation to the study, prevention or treatment of mental illness or psychiatry throughout their careers.

We also held our annual RCPsych Awards ceremony and awarded individuals and teams in 17 different categories.

Adrian also interviewed this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award winner, Professor Louis Appleby.

Find out who won in each category and read what the judges had to say. On this page, you can also watch a video to hear what Professor Appleby’s colleagues had to say about him. The full awards ceremony can also be watched online.

Read more to receive further information regarding a career in psychiatry