Presidential election

The race is on to succeed Dr Adrian James as the President of the Royal College of Psychiatrists.

Three candidates have thrown their hats into the ring to take over from Dr James, next June, and become the 18th President of RCPsych.

  • Dr Kate Lovett
  • Professor Russell Razzaque
  • Dr Lade Smith CBE

The successful candidate – who will serve a three-year term – will be the leader of the profession and, among other things, represent you with politicians, the media, and other key stakeholders.

Meet the candidates

Each candidate has written a 500-word election statement. They have also recorded a three-minute video, explaining why they would like you to vote for them.

The next edition of RCPsych Insight – out later this month – will feature statements from each of the candidates.   

If you want to put a question direct to the candidates, you can attend our Presidential election hustings event, 6-8pm on 20 October, in person or online. More details to follow about the date and how to take part.  

If you can’t attend the event, you can still submit questions for consideration in advance.

There will also be an online Q&A held during November, via the College website, allowing another opportunity for members to put questions to the candidates.

How to vote

All College Members, Fellows and Specialist Associates will be eligible to vote in the Presidential election and will be contacted by the Civica Election Services (CES) in December about casting their vote.

You will be able to vote for your chosen candidate between 14 December and 18 January at 12 noon. The winner of the election will be announced on 19 January 2023.

The RCPsych is your College – please cast your vote to help decide who becomes the next President.

Read more to receive further information regarding a career in psychiatry