Voting opens in College elections

The elections have opened for places on RCPsych Council, and a number of other committees, and will run until midday on 20 April. 

The candidates for Council are Dr Mayura Deshpande; Dr Ian Hall; Dr Declan Hyland; Dr Santosh Mudholkar; Dr Saima Niaz; Dr Abdi Sanati and Dr Kannan Suresh Babu. 

The RCPsych Council, which is chaired by College President Dr Adrian James, leads on training and education, policy, professional practice, professional standards, public engagement, standards, quality, research, and recruitment and retention. 

Dr Adrian James said:

"Council is the central policy-making body of the College and is crucial to all aspects of its functioning. This is your chance to vote for the candidate who will represent your views and contribute most effectively to the running of the RCPsych. Over to you."

Voting is also open for several Faculties, the Western Pacific International Division and the Psychiatric Trainees Committee. 

To find out more about which elections are taking place and to see the lists of candidates, please visit our elections page

Read more to receive further information regarding a career in psychiatry