Choosing our next President

Voting in the RCPsych Presidential election has now officially opened, and you have until midday on 8 January to cast your ballot.

The Presidential election candidates are Professor Kam Bhui, Dr Adrian James and Professor Pamela Taylor – and the winner will be the leader of the speciality of psychiatry, taking over from our current President, Professor Wendy Burn, in July.

The new President will serve a three-year term and – among other things – will represent you when speaking with politicians, the media and other key stakeholders.

Last week, you should have received an email giving you the opportunity to vote in the RCPsych Presidential and other key elections.

The email from the election administrators, on behalf of the College, was sent to members eligible to vote on Wednesday 11 December.

A further email will be sent to all members tomorrow (19 December).

Please use your vote, and help shape the future of your speciality.

How to vote

In the email you should have received last Wednesday – and the follow-up email you will receive tomorrow – there is a link which is unique to you.

After clicking on the link to the Civica Election Services site, for the Presidential election, you can read the candidates’ statements and rank them in order of preference.

If you are eligible to vote in the elections but have not received an invitation to vote, please check your spam folder. If the email is not there, please contact the College at:

Find out more

This year’s Presidential election campaign has included the College’s first ever Presidential hustings, the first ever online Q& A, as well as candidate videos and statements.

To help you make up your mind, you can catch up with the campaign – including a video of the hustings – on our website, as well as reading more about the elections process.

Get in contact to receive further information regarding a career in psychiatry