RCPsych Awards

The extraordinary achievements of College members and others who have been working in mental health during an incredibly challenging year were recognised last week.

Two of the College’s annual ceremonies were held the same day, with the President’s medals and Honorory Fellowships event taking place before the RCPsych Awards.

President’s medals and Honorary Fellowships

The first ceremony would normally take place during the International Congress but was held online this year for the first time. Our President Dr Adrian James and Registrar Dr Trudi Seneviratne hosted the event and introduced each recipient who then gave an acceptance speech.

Each year the President and the nomination committee nominates up to seven medal winners and up to five Honorary fellows.

The Honorary Fellowship award is the highest accolade that the College can give members, and is presented to individuals who have demonstrated distinguished service to humanity in relation to the study, prevention or treatment of mental illness or psychiatry throughout their careers.

RCPsych Awards

We also held our annual RCPsych Awards ceremony and awarded individuals and teams in 17 different categories.

Adrian also interviewed this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award winner, Baroness Elaine Murphy.

Find out who won in each category and read what the judges had to say – and watch a short video about the career of Baroness Murphy, by clicking the link below.

North West Awards

A regional awards evening was also held in the North West. There were nine category winners – see some of the amazing achievements of the winners in the NW awards.

Get in contact to receive further information regarding a career in psychiatry