Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
The Royal College of Psychiatrists Improving the lives of people with mental illness


Changes to the MRCPsych CASC Examination

Candidates are advised that the circuit of eight ‘link stations’ which used to take place during the morning session has ceased to exist.


A new circuit of eight single stations has been introduced.  This circuit has four minutes to read the instructions and seven minutes to complete the task. Six of the stations have a patient management focus. The remaining two stations have a focus on history taking and examination.


The second circuit of eight single stations which normally takes place in the afternoon with ninety seconds to read the instructions and seven minutes to undertake the task remains unchanged.


The sixteen CASC station exam will therefore comprise of:

  • five stations focused on History Taking, including risk assessment
  • five stations focused on Examination - both physical and mental state, including capacity assessment.
  • six stations focused on patient Management


The College reserves the right to change the order in which the circuits are presented. 



Circuit 1
6 x stations focused on Management 1 x station focused on Examination 1 x station focused on History Taking 4 minutes reading  7 minute task 
Circuit 2    4 x stations focused on Examination 4 x stations focused on History Taking 90 seconds reading  7 minute task 


Kate Lovett, Dean

Peter Bowie, Chief Examiner

June 2017




Login - Members Area

If you don't have an account please Click here to Register

Make a Donation

Information Standard 2