Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
The Royal College of Psychiatrists Improving the lives of people with mental illness

London Division Executive Committee


The Executive Committee is made up of members from all regions of London, and include a representative from every specialty.  Any member who wishes to contact the Committee can do so via the Division Manager.

Meet the Chair, Vice Chair and Financial Officer of the London Division:

Chair - Dr Shakeel Ahmad, BSc MB BS MSc (Clinical Neuropsychiatry) FRCPsych

Consultant Psychiatrist, Huntercombe Hospital – Roehampton


Dr Shakeel Ahmad is a Consultant Psychiatrist at the Huntercombe Hospital - Roehampton. He trained at the Institute of Psychiatry, Maudsley & Bethlem Royal Hospitals. He was Clinical Director for General Adult Psychiatry with Surrey and Hampshire Borders Trust 2000-03, and Medical Director at Huntercombe Hospital - Roehampton 2004-15.

He has been a contributor to WHO Guide on Mental Health to Primary Care. He also volunteers to visit and contribute in development of psychiatric services in the developing world.


Vice Chair - Dr Peter Hughes FRCPsych

Dr Peter Hughes is a Consultant Psychiatrist/Hon Senior Lecturer based at Springfield University Hospital - London. He is a Global Mental Health Specialist. He is the Chair of Volunteering and International psychiatry’s special interest group. He has a Special interest in integration of mental health into primary care globally and is an expert in mhGAP.






Financial Officer - Dr Ilyas Mirza MB BS, MRCPsych, MD


Dr Ilyas Mirza is a Consultant Psychiatrist at Barnet Enfield and Haringey Mental Health (NHS) Trust. He is also the Trust  R&D Director and Educational Supervisor with the UCLP Higher Psychiatric Training Scheme. He has an interest in improving mental health services in low- income populations.



The full list of Members of the Executive Committee:

(E = elected C = co-opted)


Member Year of Joining Position
Dr Shakeel Ahmad  2014 (E)  Chair
Dr Ilyas Mirza  2016 (E) Financial Officer
Dr Mark Ashraph  2014 (E) Elected Member
Ms Jude Black 2016 (A) Carers Representative
Dr David Codling 2016 Psychiatric Trainees' Committee
Dr Kenneth Courtenay 2010 (C) Co-opted Member
Dr Peter Hughes 2014 (E) Vice Chair
Dr Mujtaba Husain 2016 Education Training and Standards Rep
Dr Francis Keaney 2016 (E) Elected Member
Dr Sujaa Rajagopal Arokiadass 2014 (E) Elected Member
Dr Arvind Sharma 2014 (E) Elected Member
Dr Sharji Sukumaran 2013 (C) Affiliate Representative
Login - Members Area

If you don't have an account please Click here to Register

Make a Donation


News and events


Forthcoming London Division Executive Committee meetings:


  • 15 March 2017
  • 14 June 2017
  • 13 September 2017
  • 13 December 2017


How to contact the London Division

Jennifer McKay 

London Division Manager

Royal College of Psychiatrists

21 Prescot Street

London E1 8BB


Tel:  0203 701 2597

Fax: 0843 659 3592