Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
The Royal College of Psychiatrists Improving the lives of people with mental illness

London Division Medical Students' Prize

The London Division has established a prize for the best submission by a medical undergraduate within the London Division. This can be any of the following:

  1. An essay written on a subject in psychiatry 
  2. A research project in psychiatry where the student is either the main author or has made a significant contribution
  3. A literature review on a topic in psychiatry

Prize:  A maximum of three prizes of £200 each are offered, depending on the standard and number of submissions.

Frequency:  Annually

  Medical undergraduates currently in the London Division area

Where presented:  Divisional Educational Meeting


  1. The submission should ideally be between 6000 and 8000 words.  
  2. Research projects should be written in the format normally associated with research articles published in the academic press, and should also include an abstract of no more than 200 words. 
  3. The submission should be the applicant's own work. 
  4. Only one submission per applicant will be accepted.  
  5. The submission is to be forwarded as a Word document.
  6. Submissions should be made electronically to Tandeep Phull London Division Co-Ordinator

Closing Date: 17:00 hrs, 16 September 2017

Back to top

Previous Winners -

Prize Winners 2016

Ieuan Lewis, Jessie Pairman, Gavin Spickett, Julia L Newton for  work entitled: 

Clinical characteristics of a novel subgroup of chronic fatigue syndrome patients with postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome


Rhian Hayes for work entitled: What is the relationship between autism spectrum disorder and offending behaviour, if any?

Robert Vaughan for work entitled: Is Anorexia New: Do Historical Accounts of Self Starvation Undermine Western Society’s Purported Role in Anorexia Nervosa’s Aetiology?

Prize Winners 2015

Julie Hammond for  work entitled: Assessing Parenting Capacity in Psychiatric Mother and Baby Units: A case report and review of literature

and Katherine Wiles with [Claudia Lage, Sukhwinder S Shergill, Derek K Tracy]  for work entitled: A systematic review of the effects of low frequency repetitive transcranial magnetic stimulation on cognition

Prize Winners 2014

Shumei Germaine Liu for work entitled: Implementing the 4 'A's Test: Detecting delirium in acutely admitted older adults in a London teaching hospital.

Mayowa Oyesanya received a Highly Commended for work entitled: Psychiatric Co-Morbidity in Patients with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome receiving Cognitive Behavioural Therapy

Ally Saetta for work entitled: Muscle Dysmorphia - under researched and potentially over diagnosed

Aneka Popat has been Highly Commended for the work Anorexia Nervosa in 21st Century Females

Prize Winners 2013

Sally Bramley for work entitled: The relationship between metacognitive ability, cognitive insight and mood in healthy participants.

Runner up is Eleanor Turner-Moss for her work: Labour Exploitation and Health: a case series of men and women seeking post-trafficking services in the UK

Shuo Zhang for work entitled: Cross-Cultural Contact - psychosis and the city in modern life.

The runner up is Titilopemi Oladosu for Paternal Postnatal Depression.

Prize winners 2012

Celia Shiles for her work entitled: Is there a significant interaction between life adversity and the brain derived neurotrophic factor gene in mood disorders?

Noa Keren received a Highly Commended for work entitled: The Role of Inhibitory Control and Social Cognition in a Naturalistic Theory of Mind Test

 Marcus Wade for his work entitled: Does Smoking Cannabis Increase the Risk of Developing Schizophrenia?

Eleri Clissold received a Highly Commended for work entitled: Suffering in Silence - Psychiatric co-morbidities in autistic spectrum disorders.

Prize Winners 2011

Lauren Waterman for her work entitled: Does medical school lead students to repeatedly visit the doctor with concerns about having serious health problems: A cross-sectional study of 'Medical Student Syndrome'

Peter McCann received a Highly Commended for work entitled: Amygdala Reactivity to SAD Faces Modulated by 5-HTTLPR Genotype and Major Depressive Disorder.

Shawki El-Ghazali won the Essay Competition for his work entitled The Cage

Prize Winners 2010

Jennifer Powell for work entitled:  Is there a relationship between glycaemic control and cognitive function in adults with newly diagnosed type 2 diabetes mellitus? A cross-sectional study

Seeta Seetharaman received a Highly Commended for work entitled:  Examining the impact of the swine flu outbreak on patients under specialist mental health care.

Charles Le Grice for work entitled: A review of recent literature on violence post-deployment in armed forces personnel.

Lydia Dimitry received a Highly Commended for work entitled: The mental health of children and adolescents in armed conflict areas in the middle east.

Prize Winners 2009

Nisha Mehta for work entitled: 'Public attitudes towards people with mental health issues in England and Scotland, 1994-2003

Joanne Li Shen Ooi for her essay entitled: How loud is the unquiet mind

Back to top

Login - Members Area

If you don't have an account please Click here to Register

Make a Donation