Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
The Royal College of Psychiatrists Improving the lives of people with mental illness

The Executive

The Executive Committee is very active and feels it’s important to keep members in touch with the Division and the role we play in representing you.

Meetings, agendas and minutes

The Executive Committee meets four times a year, usually in March, June, September and December, and for a Strategy Meeting in September.

Our Annual General Meeting takes place in the spring to coincide with the Spring Biannual Meeting. 

Papers are available on our password-protected Executive Committee Papers page.

Members who wish items to be raised at the Executive should send details to the South West Division Manager at least three weeks prior to the meeting.


Who's on the Executive

Position  Member
Elected Members:  
Spring Biannual Meeting Lead
Dr Richard Laugharne
Vice Chair Dr Helen Rayner
Financial Officer  Dr Simon Christopherson
Education and Training Committee Representative
SWDT Director
Dr Guy Undrill
Elected Member
Service User and Carer Contact
Dr Mike Metcalfe 
Elected Member Dr Salim Razak
Elected Member Dr Nicus Kotzé
Elected Member
Divisional Commissioning Representative
Dr Andrew Moore
Appointed Members:  
Regional Advisor - North (Severn Deanery Area)
Policy and Public Affairs Committee Representative
College Trust Representative - 2gether NHS Foundation Trust
Dr Paul Winterbottom
Regional Advisor - South (Peninsula Deanery Area) Dr Sunil Ram
Deputy Regional Advisor (Severn) Dr Manash Chattopadhyay
Deputy Regional Advisor (Peninsula) Dr Deepak Sachdeva
Regional Representative - Academic Vacant
Regional Representative - Addictions Dr Jan Melichar
Regional Representative - Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Dr Sarah Rawlinson
Regional Representative - Eating Disorders Dr Mary Rowlands
Regional Representative - Forensic Psychiatry Dr Tim Amos
Regional Representative - General Adult Psychiatry Dr Chris Mortimore
Regional Representative - Intellectual Disability Vacant
Regional Representative - Liaison Psychiatry Dr Janet Butler
Regional Representative - Medical Psychotherapy Dr Gill Bluck
Regional Representative - Neuropsychiatry Dr Monica Mohan
Regional Representative - Old Age Psychiatry Dr Ian Johnson
Regional Representative - Perinatal Psychiatry Dr Sally Morgan
Regional Representative - Rehabilitation and Social Psychiatry Dr John Barnes
Deputy Regional Representative - Academic Vacant
Deputy Regional Representative - CAMHS Dr Femi Akerele
Deputy Regional Representative - Forensic Vacant
Deputy Regional Representative - General Adult Dr Jon Haynes
Deputy Regional Representative - Intellectual Disability Vacant
Deputy Regional Representative - Liaison Dr Lucy Griffin
Deputy Regional Representative - Old Age Vacant
Deputy Regional Representative - Psychotherapy Dr John Hepple
Deputy Regional Representative - Rehabilitation Dr Rachel Harland
Deputy Regional Representative - Addictions Vacant
Co-opted Members:  
Head of School of Psychiatry - Severn Deanery Dr Melanie Merricks
Head of School of Psychiatry - Peninsula Deanery Dr Giles Richards
Public Engagement Officer Vacant
SAS Representative Vacant
Newsletter Editor Dr Juzer Daudjee
Co-Lead for Promoting Recruitment in Psychiatry (Severn) Dr Helen Sharrard
Co-Lead for Promoting Recruitment in Psychiatry (Peninsula) Vacant
Innovation Lead Dr Rohit Shankar
College Trust Representative - Live Well South West Dr Soni Bhate
College Trust Representative - Dorset HealthCare NHS
Foundation Trust
Dr Geoff Searle
College Trust Representative - Cornwall Partnership
NHS Foundation Trust
Dr Daniel Smith
College Trust Representative - Devon Partnership NHS Trust Dr David Somerfield
Retired Doctors Representative Dr Angela Rouncefield
Retired Doctors Representative Dr Paul Divall
New Consultant Representative
Divisional Start Well Lead
Dr Leanne Hayward
Leadership and Management Committee Representative Dr Amjad Uppal
Academic Health Networks and Strategic Clinical Networks Dr Laurence Mynors-Wallis
Service User Representative Ms Stevie Moss
Carer Representative Vacant
Division Mentoring Lead Dr Ian Rodin
Ex-Officio Members:  
Core Trainee Representative - Psychiatric Trainees Committee Dr Ross Runciman
Core Trainee Representative - Psychiatric Trainees Committee Dr Russell Gibson
Senior Trainee Representative - Psychiatric Trainees Committee  



We’re holding elections for officers and members in alternate years as below:


  • Vice Chair
  • Financial Officer
  • Education and Training Committee Representative
  • Executive Committee Members - 2 posts



  • Chair
  • Executive Committee Members - 2 posts


Login - Members Area

If you don't have an account please Click here to Register

Make a Donation Information Standard 2