Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
The Royal College of Psychiatrists Improving the lives of people with mental illness

South West Division Biannual Meetings

High quality scientific conferences are held each year: in the spring in Totnes and in autumn in Bristol.


Spring Biannual Meeting 11 May 2018

Location: Dartington Hall, Totnes

Theme: Mental Health research and innovation in the South West'

Summary: This exciting day will include talks on a variety of topics by several speakers including Professor Ray Jones, Professor Richard Byng, Professor Tamsin Ford, Professor Clive Ballard, Dr Craig Newman and Dr Rohit Shankar.

Register: Book online or call 01761 463979


Previous biannual meetings

Autumn 2017: 'Neurodevelopment and the Jobbing Psychiatrist'

Leading experts discussed a wide range of issues related to neurodevelopment, arguing how they are relevant to the 'jobbing psychiatrist'. Speakers included Professor Ian Goodyer, Professor Michael O'Donovan, Dr Catherine Winsper, Dr Raja Mukherjee, Dr Dietmar Hank, Dr Peter Carpenter and Dr Tom Berney and the programme covered a wide range of issues including depression, psychosis, borderline personality to autism, Asperger's and ADHD.

Spring 2017: 'Neuroplasticity and neuromodulation in psychiatry - potential for new treatments’

Again, set in the beautiful surroundings of Dartington Hall, the speakers for this excellent day included Dr Jacinta O'Shea, Dr Derek Tracy, Dr Gareth Cuttle and Dr Andrea Malizia, with Dr Richard Laugharne presenting on behalf of Dr Mynors-Wallis.  

Autumn 2016:'Uncommon psychiatric presentations'

Our speakers for this excellent day included Dr Niraj Ahuja, Dr Christopher Bass, Dr Anish Patel, Professor Paul Salkovskis, Professor David Veale and Dr Jonathan Davies.

Spring 2016: 'Psychoneuroimmunology - pioneering new treatments or blind alley?'

Dr Richard Laugharne led this highly interesting event in a beautiful setting and speakers included: Peter Bloomfield, Dr Ruihua Hou, Dr Golam Khandaker, Prof Jonathan Mill and Dr Valeria Mondelli.

Login - Members Area

If you don't have an account please Click here to Register

Make a Donation

Information Standard 2