Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
The Royal College of Psychiatrists Improving the lives of people with mental illness

ECTAS logo


The ECTAS process is governed by several staff and committees:



Advisory Group

The ECTAS Advisory Group comprises of staff from the participating services and representatives from service commissioning, professional bodies, and other national organisations and those who represent the service use perspectives. This group meets on an annual basis to discuss and revise the ECTAS standards to reflect updated changes to ECT practice and legislation.

The members and the organisations they represent are:


  • Dr Maria Atkins - Royal College of Psychiatrists (Wales)
  • Peter Bestley - Service User Advisor
  • Dr Godfrey Bwalya - Royal College of Anaesthetists
  • Vanessa Cameron - Chief Executive, Royal College of Psychiatrists
  • Janie Cornish - Royal College of Nursing
  • Derek Cragg - Service User Advisor
  • Dr Adoni Gopalaswamy - Royal College of Psychiatrists (England)
  • Dr Katherine Hayden - Royal College of Psychiatrists (England)
  • Ian Hulatt - Royal College of Nursing
  • Dr Declan McLoughlin - Royal College of Psychiatrists (Ireland) 
  • Dr Roshan Perera - Royal College of Psychiatrists (England)
  • Annie Seaborn - Royal College of Nursing
  • Dr Amanda Spencer - Royal College of Anaesthetists

Accreditation Committee

The ECTAS Accreditation Committee makes recommendations about the accreditation status of each service that is reviewed under the programme.  The members and the organisations they represent are:


  • Joseph Campling  - ECT Lead Nurse
  • Dr Richard Cree - Consultant Anaesthetist
  • Dr Andrew Easton -  Consultant Psychiatrist
  • Dr Jill Emerson  - Consultant Psychiatrist
  • Dr Jag Haldar - Consultant Anaesthetist
  • Kara Hannigan - ECT Lead Nurse
  • Maureen Longstaff - ECT Lead Nurse
  • Dr Tim Oakley (chair) - Consultant Psychiatrist
  • Lois Sykes - ECT Lead Nurse 
  • Dr Maree Wright - Consultant Anaesthetist



The ECTAS Team

ECTAS is co-ordinated daily by Nicky Buley, the ECTAS Project Worker and the programme is managed by Emma Hailey, ECTAS Deputy Programme Manager.

For contact details, visit our Contact Us page.


Where next...


ECTAS, 21 Prescot Street, London, E1 8BB
Tel: 020 3701 2653  Fax: 020 3701 2761 Email:

Login - Members Area

If you don't have an account please Click here to Register

Make a Donation