Presidential Elections

Dr Adrian James has won our 2019/20 Presidential election. 

For more information on the final results, read our news story.

Our Presidential elections were launched in October 2019, with three candidates competing to become the next President. On this page you can see how each candidate campaigned, by reading more about their vision for the College or seeing their speeches from the first ever College hustings event.

Darllen y dudalen hon yn Gymraeg

Previous election results 


Candidates: Dr Peter Aitken, Dr J S Bamrah, Professor Wendy Burn, Professor Rob Poole, Dr James Warner

Professor Wendy Burn elected President

Total number of votes cast: 4,595

Voter turnout: 33.1%


Candidates: Dr Laurence Mynors-Wallis, Professor Sir Simon Wessely

Professor Sir Simon Wessely elected President

Total number of votes cast: 3,012

Voter turnout: 23.0%


Candidates: Professor Dame Sue Bailey, Dr Dabyasachi Bhaumik, Professor Nick Craddock, Professor George Ikkos, Professor Anthony Pelosi, Professor Chris Thompson

Professor Dame Sue Bailey elected President

Total number of votes cast: 3,286

Voter turnout: 26.6%


Professor Dinesh Bhugra elected President unopposed


Candidates: Professor Sheila Hollins, Professor Cornelius Katona, Professor Femi Oyebode, Professor Richard Williams, Dr Tony Zigmond

Professor Sheila Hollins elected President

Total number of votes cast: 3,370

Voter turnout: 33.89%