Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
The Royal College of Psychiatrists Improving the lives of people with mental illness

College Officers

Professor Wendy Burn


Professor Wendy Burn FRCPsych

Wendy was elected President of the College in 2017. She holds this role until 2020 and leads the RCPsych on behalf of its members and associates.

Professor Wendy Burn became a consultant old age psychiatrist in Leeds in 1990 and now works part time in a community post. Her main clinical interest is dementia.

She has held a regional leadership role in this area from 2011 and was co-clinical Lead for dementia for Yorkshire and the Humber Strategic Clinical Network between 2013 and 2016.

She also sits on national groups for the planning of dementia care.

Wendy has been heavily involved in postgraduate training since starting as a consultant and has held many roles in education, including setting up the Yorkshire School of Psychiatry and becoming the first Head of School.

She was a senior organiser of clinical examinations at the College, deputy convenor, regional co-ordinator for continuing professional development and the deputy lead for national recruitment.

She co-chairs the Gatsby Wellcome Neuroscience Project, aimed at reworking the core training curriculum for psychiatry trainees.

From 2011 to 2016 Wendy was College Dean.

Wendy can be contacted at


Dr Adrian James


Dr Adrian J B James FRCPsych

Adrian has been Registrar of the College since 2015. In this role he has overall responsibility for policy, public education, revalidation and membership engagement. In his role as College Registrar he is prioritising recruitment and communicating with the public, media and system leaders to ensure parity of esteem becomes a reality on the ground.

Adrian is Consultant Forensic Psychiatrist at Langdon Hospital in Dawlish, Devon. He is a former Medical Director of Devon Partnership NHS Trust and Founding Chair of the School of Psychiatry at the Peninsular Deanery (2006-2008).

He was the elected Chair of the South West Division of the Royal College of Psychiatrists (2007-2011) and sat on the College Council in this capacity. In 2010 he was appointed Chair of the Westminster Parliamentary Liaison Committee of the Royal College of Psychiatrists (attending the three main Party Conferences 2011-14 in this capacity).

He was Clinical Director for Mental Health, Dementia and Neurology, working for NHS England South West (2013-2015, interim from 2012-13). He has also acted as a Reviewer and Clinical Expert for the Healthcare Commission and its successor organisation the Care Quality Commission (CQC).

Outside of work, Adrian is a cyclist and occasional pantomime Dame. He is keen to hear from members about professional concerns and can be contacted at


Dr Kate Lovett


Dr Kate Lovett FRCPsych

Kate is the Dean and is the chief academic officer of the College. She is elected for the period 2016–2021.

Dr Kate Lovett studied Medicine at the Universities of St. Andrews and Manchester. Having been awarded a Distinction in Psychiatry at finals, Kate trained as a Psychiatrist in the Northwest obtaining the MRCPsych in 1995. She completed an MSc in Clinical Psychiatry in 1997 researching the role of ovarian steroids in postnatal depression. Kate trained both full time and flexibly completing specialist training in 2001. She has worked for Devon Partnership Trust as a Consultant Psychiatrist in General Adult Psychiatry since 2001 as an inpatient and crisis consultant. She was an Associate Medical Director between 2008 and 2010 and has been in her current role as a community psychiatrist for the past 5 years.

Kate has a longstanding interest in training and education. She has been undergraduate Psychiatry lead for Peninsula Medical School and Training Programme Director for Adult Psychiatry. Kate completed a Postgraduate Certificate of Clinical Education with Distinction in 2008. She served on the Education, Training and Standards Committee at the Royal College of Psychiatrists between 2010 and 2014 and on the South West Division between 2010 and 2016. Kate was appointed as CASC (Clinical Assessment of Skills and Competencies) examiner in 2008 and became a lead examiner in 2014. She was Head of School of Psychiatry for the Peninsula Deanery for four and a half years until 2016 when she gave up this role having been elected Dean of the Royal College of Psychiatrists. In that role she has lead work on recruitment and retention in the mental health workforce and been a driving force behind the #ChoosePsychiatry campaign. Her drive to develop systems that support compassionate care and recovery fuels her educational leadership and is underpinned by values of equity and fairness.


Dr Jan Falkowski


Dr Jan Falkowski TD FRCPsych MBA

Jan is the Treasurer and is the principal financial officer of the College. He is elected for the period 2016–2021

Dr Jan Falkowski trained at St Georges. He was appointed as a Consultant Psychiatrist at the Royal London Hospital in 1994. He has continued to serve a busy inner city catchment area since then. He has held various senior management positions. He is a Consultant Psychiatrist in the East London Foundation NHS Trust and an Honorary Senior Lecturer at The Barts and London Medical School. He is a Training Programme Director and involved in Undergraduate Medical Education. He has held a number of roles at the Royal College including being a Regional Advisor and Fellow on Council.

His interests include medical education, professionalism and resilience. He has raced powerboats internationally and holds a number of world records.


Login - Members Area

If you don't have an account please Click here to Register

Make a Donation