Professor Kam Bhui awarded Honorary Fellowship

Online news
21 April 2023

Professor Kam Bhui was presented with his Honorary Fellowship at a ceremony at Prescot Street last week (Thursday 13 April).

Kam Bhui - Honorary Fellowship

The Honorary Fellowship award is the highest accolade that the College can give members, and is presented to individuals who have demonstrated distinguished service to humanity in relation to the study, prevention or treatment of mental illness or psychiatry throughout their careers.

Professor Kam Bhui is Professor Of Psychiatry and Honorary Consultant Psychiatrist at the University of Oxford. He has been Editor in Chief of the British Journal of Psychiatry (BJPsych) since 2013.

His work and interests include assertive outreach and homelessness; inpatient, forensic, social and cultural psychiatry, epidemiology, health services research and psychological therapies. In 2017, Kam was awarded a CBE in the Queen's New Year Honours List in honour of his services to mental health care and research.

During the ceremony, we also welcome 11 new Fellows of the College, who had travelled from across the country and the world. The Fellows presented last week were:

  • Dr Richard Bunn
  • Dr Jennifer Evelyn Ford
  • Dr Julia Gledhill
  • Dr Ashwani Kapila
  • Dr Richelle Kirrane
  • Dr Annie McCloud
  • Dr Clare Paula McLorinan
  • Dr Sandra Metcalfe
  • Dr Atiqa Rafiq
  • Dr Bennett Sikabofori
  • Dr Sekharan Jaisoorya Thiruppadikkal
New honorary fellows - April 2023


If you’re interested in becoming a Fellow of the College, we’re accepting nominations until 15 September. Full details and the application process are available online