RCPsych Royal Honours Announcement

Press release
29 December 2017

Today, 29 December, Her Majesty the Queen announced the 2018 New Year’s honour list and we are delighted that five members of RCPsych are included. Professor Tim Crow, Professor Ian Goodyer and Dr Clive Meux will receive OBEs, Dr Rohit Shankar an MBE and Dr Sarah Stringer a BEM.

Professor Wendy Burn, President of the Royal College of Psychiatrists said: “We are delighted that Clive, Ian, Rohit, Sarah and Tim have received honours this year. We all know that mental and physical health are just as important but it’s not often that doctors specialising in mental illness get the recognition they deserve.

“It’s fantastic to see psychiatrists awarded for their life-saving work.”

Paul Rees, Chief Executive of the Royal College of Psychiatrists said: “I have the utmost respect for all those who have received honours for their work in mental health.

“The Royal College of Psychiatrists fights tirelessly for mental and physical health to be equally valued and respected. And while mental health has long been undervalued, these honours are a clear sign that recognition of the important work psychiatrists do is on the up.”

List of recipients:



Dr Clive Meux, Consultant Forensic Psychiatrist, Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust. For services to People with Mental Ill Health.

Professor Tim Crow, Honorary Scientific Director, Prince of Wales International Centre for SANE Research. For services to Schizophrenia Research and Treatments.

Prof Ian Goodyer, Professor of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, University of Cambridge. For services to Psychiatry Research.

Professor Sally-Ann Cooper, Professor of Learning Disabilities, University of Glasgow. For services to Science and Medicine.


Dr Rohit Shankar, Consultant in Adult Developmental Psychiatry, Cornwall Partnership NHS Foundation Trust. For services to People with Learning Disabilities in Cornwall.

Dr Ben Goldacre, Senior Clinical Research Fellow at the Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine, Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences, is appointed MBE for services to Evidence in Policy.


Dr Sarah Stringer, Honorary Lecturer, King’s College London. For services to Psychiatry and Equality in Mental Healthcare.

Other notable mental health advocates include:



Poppy Jaman, Chief Executive, Mental Health First Aid England. For services to People with Mental Health Issues.

Professor Elizabeth Kuipers, Professor of Clinical Psychology, King’s College, London. For services to Clinical Research, Treatment and Support for People with Psychosis.


Mrs Deborah Brownson, For services to Autism Awareness.

Mrs Barbara Woodward Carlton, Chair, University of Bradford Panel for Dementia Research. For services to Patient and Public Involvement in Furthering Dementia Research.

Mrs Lucy Marks, Chief Executive Officer and Clinical Psychologist, Compass Wellbeing. For services to Children's Mental Health and Primary Care.

Ms Neelam Farzana, Managing Director, The Listening Service. For services to Mental Health in the Community.


Ms Angela Kandola, Founder, AWAAZ charity. For services to Vulnerable People with Mental Health Issues.

For further information, please contact: