Dr Trudi Seneviratne elected as next Registrar

Online news
20 April 2020


Dr Gertrude (Trudi) Seneviratne OBE has been elected the next Registrar of the Royal College of Psychiatrists. 

In an election which had four contenders, Dr Seneviratne secured forty percent of the vote running against Dr Peter Aitken, Dr Raj Mohan and Professor Mohammed Al-Uzri.

Current registrar, Dr Adrian James, steps down from the role on 1 July 2020 to become the next president of the College, having served a full five-year term in office.

Speaking after the result, Dr Trudi Seneviratne, said: “I am absolutely thrilled to be elected Registrar of the College and greatly look forward to working the alongside the senior officers, our CEO and the College team, when I take up my role.  

"There has never been a more important time for mental health. The current global crisis with Covid-19 highlights the crucial contribution of both psychiatry and psychiatrists.

"I am committed to the priorities of supporting psychiatrists, ensuring mental health is top of national agenda, and addressing equality and sustainability.

"I would like to thank Dr Peter Aitken, Professor Mohammed Al-Uzri & Dr Rajesh Mohan. It has been a privilege to stand alongside them. 

"Finally, I would like to thank all our members who have placed their confidence and trust in me.”

The position of Registrar is one of the most senior posts in the College and has responsibility for policy, public education, revalidation and membership engagement.

Professor Wendy Burn, President of the Royal College of Psychiatrists, said:  "I am delighted that Trudi has been elected. She was a highly successful Chair of our Perinatal Faculty, doing huge amounts to improve the care of women who become mentally ill around childbirth, and I know she will go on to do even greater things as Registrar."

The election had a turnout of 21.6%. In the first round of voting, Dr Seneviratne won 40.2% of the vote, Dr Peter Aitken won 26.9%, Dr Raj Mohan won 17% and Professor Mohammed Al-Uzri won 15.9%. Once second preferences were counted, Dr Raj Mohan and Professor Mohammed Al-Uzri were eliminated, and Dr Seneviratne won 58.2% of the vote, with Dr Peter Aitken in second place, securing 41.8%.