Tributes as Dean and Treasurer demit office

Online news
23 June 2021

RCPsych President Dr Adrian James today paid tribute to Dr Kate Lovett and Dr Jan Falkowski as they stepped down from their roles as Dean and Treasurer after five years. 

And he welcomed Professors Subodh Dave and John Crichton, who became the College’s new Dean and Treasurer respectively, following our AGM on day three of this year’s RCPsych International Congress.

Dr James said: “I would like to thank our outgoing Dean and Treasurer for all their contributions to the College.

"Dr Kate Lovett has been the true pioneer of the Choose Psychiatry campaign. 

"The success of this campaign is unmatched. When it was launched, three out of ten core psychiatric trainee places weren’t filled and now, under her leadership, the campaign has helped secure a 100% fill rate for the first time on record. 

"We’re also saying goodbye to Dr Jan Falkowski as Treasurer. Jan helped steady the financial ship through one of the College's most difficult periods and we’re so grateful to him that we’re coming out the other side."

Turning his attention to the incoming College Officers, Dr James said: “I’m also very pleased to welcome our new Dean,  Professor Subodh Dave and our new Treasurer, Professor John Crichton, to their posts following members choosing them in January’s elections.

“I’m excited to begin shaping the recovery from the pandemic with them both."

On her final day as Dean, Dr Lovett said: “I can honestly say that I have relished the role and enjoyed working with College staff and members immensely. I am very pleased to be handing the baton over to Professor Subodh Dave. Education in the College will be in very safe hands."

Professor Dave said he was delighted to become the new Dean, and added: “Taking over the baton from Kate is a huge privilege and I am delighted that she will continue to focus on #ChoosePsychiatry in her new role as the Presidential Lead on recruitment.

“My overarching vision is to ensure that our training, assessment structures and CPD lead to improvements in patient care and clinical outcomes.”  

Leaving the role of Treasurer, Dr Falkowski paid tribute to his predecessor Professor Nick Craddock for handing over the College with a strong financial basis and added: “I am also very fortunate to have had the support of my fellow Officers, College Staff, Members and Trustees.

“I am pleased the College continues to be sound financially and will emerge from the pandemic in good financial health."

Taking up the reins as Treasurer, Professor Crichton said: “It is a great privilege to take on the role of Treasurer of the College at this pivotal moment.

"The prudence of Jan and the finance team have seen us safely through the worst of COVID and now the challenge is to respond to our changed world of Zoom meetings and home working.

"Using the strength of our diversity there is a great opportunity to reach out globally whilst avoiding the environmental impact of travel. In five years' time my aim is a greener, inclusive and more  international College."

Other key changes

The College welcomed a number of other people into key positions. 

  • Dr Linda Findlay has become Vice President of the College and chair of RCPsych in Scotland
  • Dr Elaine Lockhart has become chair of the Child and Adolescent Faculty
  • Dr Annabel Price has become chair of the Liaison Faculty
  • Dr Sunil Nodiyal has become chair of the Social and Rehabilitation Faculty
  • Dr Kallur Suresh has become chair of the Eastern Division
  • Professor Rafey Faruqui has become chair of the South Eastern Division
  • Dr Shahid Latif has become chair of the Trent Division
  • Dr Muhammad Gul has become chair of the West Midlands Division
  • Dr Lily Read has become chair of the Speciality Doctors Committee

We thank all the people who have occupied these roles to such a high standard and are stepping down today.