Annual Essay Prize

The London Division has created a prize for the best submission by a medical undergraduate and foundation doctor within the London Division.

This can be any of the following:

  • an essay written on a subject in psychiatry
  • a research project in psychiatry where the student is either the main author or has made a significant contribution
  • a literature review on a topic in psychiatry
  • an essay on psychiatry which is especially relevant to London, due either to historical importance or another topic of local significance.


A maximum of four prizes of £200 each are offered, depending on the standard and number of submissions.

  • two prizes of £200 for medical undergraduates
  • two prizes of £200 for foundation doctors.

Prizes will be awarded at the discretion of the judges who will take into account the standard of entries.

Winners also receive free entry to the London Division Autumn Academic Conference, curated by our Academic Secretary, Dr Stefania Bonaccorso.

Please note prior to 2019 the prizes were given to medical undergraduates only.



Who can enter?

Medical undergraduates and foundation doctors currently in the London Division area.

Where will it be presented?

London Division Autumn Academic Conference, 31 October 2024.  This will be a Face to Face event at RCPsych, Prescot Street, London.


  • The submission should be a maximum word count of 6000 words
  • Research projects should be written in the format normally associated with research articles published in the academic press, and should also include an abstract of no more than 200 words.
  • The submission should be the applicant's own work.
  • The submission should be an original piece and should not have been already published.
  • Only one submission per applicant will be accepted.
  • The submission is to be forwarded as a Word document.


Please send entries to Karen Morgan (

Deadline for submissions: 4 October 2024

Current prize winners

Medical student category

Twisha Ardelle Rohan for work entitled 'Insights into modern psychiatry and wellness: an exploration of sexual wellbeing in HIV+ women'
Venkatalakshmi Satram for work entitled 'Do we really care about caring? Empathy and compassion in medical education and practice'

Foundation doctor category

Dr Helen Lashwood for work entitled 'Asylum seeker access to crisis mental healthcare in Hounslow'

Please note - the prize was delayed from Autumn 2021, and awarded in Spring 2022.

Medical Student category


Previous winners

Read more to receive further information regarding a career in psychiatry