About the General Adult Faculty

Our purpose is to liaise with, and help educate and inform members, colleagues within the College and external statutory and voluntary groups and agencies.

We believe that this will support the aim of improving the standard of care given to those who look to us for help. Due to increasing sub-specialisation, we feel it is important that members' views are adequately represented.

General Adult psychiatrists make up 40% of the psychiatrists working in the UK, and our faculty is the route by which our views are represented in the College and beyond.

Our numbers and our workloads mean that we are the backbone of psychiatry in the services in which we work, and it is therefore important that this perspective is represented through the structures of the College and more widely.

We are committed to the delivery of comprehensive, high quality secondary care mental health services and see the role of well trained and well supported psychiatrists as central to this goal.

By promoting the importance of our everyday work, we seek to support members as they continue to show great commitment to their patients, their patients’ families and the communities in which they work even during times of financial pressure and constraint. 

General adult psychiatrists are skilled in the management of complexity and risk, and these skills are of immense benefit to the people who we see and the organisations and communities in which we work. As a faculty we need to understand the challenges we all face, as well as the successes we achieve.

All members of our faculty are part of this and we want to continue to support our members vigorously in the work they do.

All of us at every level can lead, and our faculty exists to encourage us all to see that we can do this.

Sign in to the members' section to join our faculty or update your details.

If you would like to get in touch, please email us.

Executive committee

Member Year of joining Position
Dr Jon Van Niekerk 2023 (E) Chair
Dr Priyadarshini Natarajan 2023 (E) Vice Chair
Dr Jeyabala Balakrishna 2023 (E) Financial Officer
Dr Vishal Agrawal 2023 (E) Committee Member
Dr Timothy Alnuamaani 2021 (E) Committee Member
Dr Sherlie Arulanandam 2023 (E) Committee Member
Commander Luke Baker 2023 (E) Committee Member
Mrs Rachel Bannister 2021 (A) Patient Representative
Dr Henny Blyth 2022 (C) PTC Rep
Dr Mosunmola Fapohunda 2021 (E) Committee Member
Dr Muhammad Firdosi 2021 (E) Committee Member
Mr Dwayne Hutchinson 2023 (A) Carers Representative
Prof. Sonia Johnson 2021 (E) Committee Member
Dr Kishore Kale 2021 (C) Wales
Dr Mohammad Kashif 2023 (C) Higher Trainee Representative
Dr Mona-Lisa Kwentoh 2023 (C) SAC Chair
Dr Clare Morgans 2021 (E) Committee Member
Dr Joan Rutherford 2021 (E) Committee Member
Dr Aamer Sajjad 2023 (E) Committee Member
Dr Sophia Senthil 2023 (E) Committee Member
Dr Hina Tahseen 2019 (C) Committee Member
Dr Claire Woolcock 2023 (E) Committee Member

Read more to receive further information regarding a career in psychiatry