Professor Roy McClelland receives Lifetime Achievement Award from the Royal College of Psychiatrists

Online news
08 November 2019

Professor Roy McClelland OBE has been awarded the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award from the Royal College of Psychiatrists during their annual awards ceremony, held on Friday.  

The awards mark the highest levels of excellence and achievement within the field of psychiatry, and are given to the Psychiatrist of the Year, Patient Contributor of the Year and Medical Student of the Year, among others.

Prof McClelland, from RCPsych Northern Ireland, co-chaired the Bamford Review which helped revolutionise mental health services in Northern Ireland by overhauling mental health policy and service delivery.

An academic leader for over two decades, Roy was responsible for all Northern Ireland’s undergraduate teaching in psychiatry and postgraduate psychiatry training, helping those students who chose psychiatry to deliver excellent care.  

He was a trustee of the Northern Ireland Centre for Trauma and Transformation, providing psychotherapy after the IRA bombing in Omagh in 1998. He later worked with emergency services in New York after 9/11, in Sri Lanka following the 2004 tsunami, and in Sarajevo and Nepal.

Professor Wendy Burn, President of the Royal College of Psychiatrists, said: “The RCPsych Awards are all about recognising and rewarding contributions to the mental health sector, but the Lifetime Achievement Awards is a cut above the rest.

“I am so pleased that we’re able to publicly honour Prof McClelland for not only improving the lives of people living with mental illness in Northern Ireland, but also people across the globe affected by international emergencies and disasters.”

Dr Shubulade Smith CBE received the coveted Psychiatrist of the Year award. She has worked tirelessly to improve services and was instrumental in her role on the Mental Health Act review committee, helping to drive forward the recommendation to improve access, experience and outcomes for BAME people.

The RCPsych Awards’ judges, said: “It becomes harder each year to select the winners of these sought-after awards. We were delighted to present Prof McClelland with our most prestigious accolade.”

The full list of award winners:  

  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Professor Roy McClelland OBE
  • Psychiatrist of the Year: Dr Shubulade Smith CBE
  • Medical Student of the Year: Haridha Pandian
  • Foundation Doctor of the Year: Dr Thomas Hewson
  • Core Psychiatric Trainee of the Year: Dr Lesley Thoms
  • Higher Psychiatric Trainee of the Year: Dr Golnar Aref Adib
  • Service User/Patient Contributor of the Year: John Venable
  • Carer Contributor of the Year: Vanessa Lee
  • Psychiatric Educator of the Year: Dr Jim Boylan
  • Rukaman Devi Jajoo Memorial Academic Researcher of the Year: Professor James Walters
  • Speciality Doctor/Associate Specialist of the Year: Dr Elizabeth Dawson
  • Psychiatric Communicator of the Year: Dr Derek Tracy
  • Psychiatric Team of the Year (CAMHS): Lichfield CAMHS, Midlands Partnership Foundation Trust
  • Psychiatric Team of the Year (Working-age adults): Deancross, Tower Hamlets Personality Disorder Service, East London NHS Foundation Trust
  • Psychiatric Team of the Year (Older-age adults): Beech Team, Devon NHS Partnership Trust
  • Psychiatric Team of the Year (Intellectual Disability): Adult Learning Disability North Tees Community Team, Tees, Esk and Wear Valleys NHS Foundation Trust
  • Psychiatric Team of the Year (Quality Improvement): Grangewood Crisis Service, Western Health And Social Care Trust
  • Psychiatric Team of the Year (Outstanding commitment to sustainable service development): Social change: improving air pollution, Southern Health NHS Foundation Trust


For further information, please contact: