Meet the new Psychiatric Trainees’ Committee (PTC) representatives

Last month saw the roles of Chair, Vice chair and Secretary of the Psychiatric Trainees’ Committee change hands as we said a fond goodbye and thanks to the departing role holders and a happy hello to our new team.

Dr Laura Thorn – a Specialty Registrar in Older Adults (Old Age) Psychiatry in Wales – stepped up to become the new PTC Chair.

Laura will be supported by:

  • Vice Chair Dr Chiara Cattra – a Speciality Registrar in General Adult Psychiatry on the south coast of England
  • Secretary Dr Daniela Almeida Borges – an International Medical Graduate and a Speciality Registrar in General Adult Psychiatry in the West Midlands

The College’s Dean, Professor Subodh Dave, said:

“As we welcome in newly elected Psychiatric Trainees’ Committee (PTC) Officers for 2023-2024, we bid a fond farewell to the outgoing Officers for the 2022-2023 period; Dr Chris Walsh, Dr Gemma Buston and Dr John Moore our former PTC Chair, Vice-Chair and Secretary respectively.

“Thank you for your considerable input into the work of the Royal College on behalf of the PTC; your contributions and dedication have been incredibly valuable, and I wish to express my personal gratitude to you for all your hard work.

“Congratulations to the new Officers, Dr Laura Thorn (Chair), Dr Chiara Cattra (Vice Chair) and Dr Daniela Borges (Secretary).

“Additionally, to Dr Chris Walsh who will continue his efforts with the PTC as ex-Officio Chair. I look forward to working with you throughout the next year.”

Read more to receive further information regarding a career in psychiatry