Books committee

Our books and journals are published on our behalf by Cambridge University Press (CUP).

About the Books committee

The College publishes a successful list of books in collaboration with CUP. The books are aimed primarily at psychiatrists, but many also address a wider range of professionals involved in mental health, and a few are aimed at the general public.

The committee meets 3-4 times a year (usually two hours per meeting) either in person or via teleconference to discuss the current status of the books list. Committee members also review proposals and manuscripts under RCPsych Books.

Committee members

  • Anne Doherty (Editor)
  • Suhana Ahmed
  • Chiara Chattra (PTC representative)
  • Mary Davoren
  • Sarah Huline-Dickens
  • Femi Oyebode
  • Jennifer Parker
  • Rob Poole
  • Peter Tyrer
  • Valentin Skryabin
  • Norella Broderick (Trainee Editor)
  • Owen O'Sullivan (Trainee Editor)

The College is represented by the Head of Publishing and Senior Publishing Coordinator, and CUP are represented by the Books Commissioning team. 

Joining the committee

For more details on the commitments and responsibilities of the committee please email for the job description. 

Book proposals

If you intend to write, or have written, a book and wish us to consider publishing it, please contact Jessica Papworth at CUP for a proposal template.

For general enquiries and suggestions please email

Use of our book content and general enquiries

Find information about copyright, permissions and where to send general and licensing enquiries.