Executive Committee

The Executive Committee meets quarterly.

It has a remit to elect members, nominate regional advisors, submit recommendations for Fellowship, nominate assessors for advisory appointments committees, nominate examiners, and submit nominations for clinical excellence awards.

View the Terms of Reference for the Exec Committee

Full list of Executive Committee members

Member Year of joining Position
Prof. Catherine Kinane 2017 (E) Chair
Dr Hasanen Al-Taiar 2019 (E) Vice Chair
Dr Hesham Elnazer 2019 (A) Academic Secretary
Dr Jawad Adil 2017 (A) Deputy Regional Advisor
Dr Pankaj Agarwal 2016 (A) Regional Representative
Dr Arif Ahmed 2019 (E) Committee Member
Dr Rajnish Attavar 2015 (A) Regional Representative
Dr Francesca Battisti 2016 (A) Regional Representative
Dr Ivona Bialas 2019 (A) Regional Representative
Dr Devika Colwill 2019 (A) Regional Representative
Dr Sharada Deepak 2017 (A) StartWell Lead
Dr Sharada Deepak 2017 (C) StartWell Lead
Dr Deepa Deo 2017 (A) Regional Representative
Dr Vijay Durge 2019 (E) Committee Member
Dr Rafey Faruqui 2016 (A) Regional Representative
Dr Jessica Gibson 2017 (A) Regional Representative
Dr Michael Groves 2019 (EX) SAS Doctor Representative
Dr Osama Hammer 2020 (A) Regional Adviser
Dr Rosarii Harte 2019 (E) Committee Member
Dr James Jeffs 2019 (A) Regional Representative
Dr Umama Khan 2018 (A) Regional Representative
Dr Ana Miorelli 2015 (A) Regional Representative
Dr Smita Pandit 2018 Deputy Regional Advisor
Dr Gurprit Pannu 2016 (A) Regional Representative
Dr Simmi Sachdeva-Mohan 2017 (A) Regional Adviser
Dr Catherine Smith 2016 (A) Regional Representative
Dr Gerti Stegen 2019 (A) Regional Representative

Members with dual roles not noted above

  • Dr Hasanen Al-Taiar - Mentoring Lead
  • Dr Sharada Deepak - Deputy Regional Advisor and StartWell Lead
  • Dr Michael Groves - Regional Representative (Wessex)
  • Dr Rosarii Harte - Finance officer & Workforce Lead
  • Dr Smita Pandit - ETC Representative

Vacancies and meeting dates

The dates for the forthcoming meetings are:

  • Friday 26 February 2021: 10am to 12pm
  • Friday 21 May 2021: 10am to 3pm (including Strategy meeting)
  • Thursday 7 October 2021: 11am to 1pm
  • Friday 3 December 2021: 10am to 12pm (elected members and Academic Secretary only)

Regional advisors and representatives



Regional Advisor Dr Sarah Knight
Deputy Regional Dr Jawad Adil
Deputy Regional Advisor Dr Osama Hammer
Deputy Regional Advisor VACANT
Academic VACANT
Addictions Dr Ahmed El Missiry
Child & Adolescent Dr Ivona Bialas
Eating Disorders Dr Grzegorz Baginski
Forensic Dr Mike Kingham
General Adult Dr Gurprit Pannu
General Adult Dr Devika Colwill
General Adult Dr Sudarsan Balakrishnan

Deputy General Adult


Deputy General Adult VACANT
Intellectual Disability Dr Mo Eyeyibo
Liaison Dr Deepa Deo
Medical Psychotherapy VACANT
Neuropsychiatry Dr Rafey Faruqui
Old Age Dr Sachin Shetty
Perinatal Dr Bosky Nair
Rehab & Social Dr Henry Andrews



Regional Advisor Dr Simmi Sachdeva-Mohan
Deputy Regional Advisor Dr Smita Pandit
Academic Dr Belinda Lennox
Addictions Dr Ahmed El Missiry
Child & Adolescent Dr Sharada Deepak
Eating Disorders VACANT
Forensic Dr Pankaj Agarwal
General Adult VACANT
General Adult VACANT
Intellectual Disability Dr Rajnish Attavar
Liaison Dr Michael Yousif
Medical Psychotherapy                Dr Gerti Stegen
Neuropsychiatry VACANT
Old Age Dr Sheena MacKenzie
Perinatal Dr Jessica Gibson
Rehabilitation Dr James Jeffs



Regional Advisor Dr Raghavendra Ramachandra
Deputy Regional Advisor Dr Mayura Deshpande
Academic VACANT
Addictions Dr Ahmed El Missiry
Child & Adolescent Dr Lynne Oldman
Eating Disorders Dr Francesca Battisti
Forensic Dr Lisa Gardiner
General Adult Dr Umama Khan
General Adult (Specialty Doctor job descriptions, for all regions within the Division) Dr Michael Groves
Intellectual Disability Dr Jennifer Dolman
Liaison Dr Ana Miorelli
Medical Psychotherapy Dr Catherine Smith
Neuro-psychiatry Dr Rafey Faruqui
Perinatal Dr Alain Gregoire
Rehab & Social Dr Henry Andrews

Regional speciality representatives

There are currently a number of posts available for Regional Specialty Representatives within the South Eastern Division. Vacancies have arisen in the following specialties due to the current post holder reaching the end of their tenure or the post is currently vacant.

Representatives for the following specialties are urgently required:

KSS Region

  • Academic
  • Child & Adolescent
  • General Adult
  • General Adult (Deputy)
  • Medical Psychotherapy

Oxford Region

  • Eating Disorders
  • General Adult
  • General Adult (Deputy)

Wessex Region

  • Academic
  • General Adult (Deputy) 
  • Old Age

Anyone interested in taking up any of the above posts should email the following information to karen.morgan@rcpsych.ac.uk:

  1. A copy of their CV
  2. The names and contact details of two referees. The referees must be fellows or members of the College, but should not hold office on the College Education Training and Standards Committee
  3. Completion of a Good Standing Form.


Regional specialty representatives will:

  • have a keen interest in maintaining standards of Consultant and other career grade Psychiatrists
  • be full, current members of the College
  • have held a substantive Consultant post or Specialist Associate grade for two years (one year with the agreement of the relevant Regional Advisor)
  • be in good standing with the College for CPD
  • be able to fulfil the requirements of the post
  • have discussed the role with their employer and the employer is content to allow the time needed to carry out the role
  • be up to date with their membership flees.

For further information please view the job descriptions and the process of appointment to these posts, this includes information for the following roles; Regional Advisor, Deputy Regional Advisor, Regional Specialty Representative and Deputy Regional Specialty Representative.

Assessors on Advisory Appointment Committees

If you have been a consultant for more than three years, would you be interested in representing the College as an Assessor on Advisory Appointments Committees (AACs)? 

Assessors are crucial for ensuring that good practice is maintained at all AACs, and we currently have a number of vacancies.  We therefore urgently need representatives in all psychiatric specialties and in all regions (excluding Scotland).

For further details please visit the College Assessor web page. Applications can be emailed to karen.morgan@rcpsych.ac.uk.

Get in contact to receive further information regarding a career in psychiatry