About us

In addition to details of the faculty's executive committee (below), we have also produced a map showing the approximate location of consultants in our specialty.

Executive committee

Member Year of joining Position
Dr Jessica Yakeley 2021 Chair
Dr Mark Morris 2018 (E) Financial Officer
Dr Dasal Abayaratne 2021 (C) Sustainability Champion
Dr Anthony Ang Wee Kiat 2012 (RRO) Regional Representative
Dr Sophie Atwood 2020 (E) Committee Member
Dr Abul Awal 2021 Regional Representative
Dr Alan Baban 2021 PTC Rep
Dr Parveen Bains 2018 (E) Committee Member
Dr Parveen Bains 2018 (RRO) Committee Member
Dr Daniel Beales 2021 Regional Representative
Dr William Burbridge-James 2015 (C) SAC Chair
Mr James Cooke 2020 (A) Committee Member
Dr Anne Cooper 2020 (E) Committee Member
Dr Josephine Fielding 2021 PTC Rep
Dr Marcella Fok 2020 (C) Committee Member
Dr Nora Gribbin 2021 (C) Sustainability Champion
Dr Simon Heyland 2018 (E) Committee Member
Dr Thomas Hillen 2020 (E) Committee Member
Dr Swapna Kongara 2021 (RRO) Regional Representative
Dr Emma Lewington 2021 Committee Member
Dr Vikram Luthra 2020 (E) Committee Member
Dr Vikram Luthra 2020 (RRO) Committee Member
Dr Caroline McCurrie 2018 (RRO) Regional Representative
Dr Owen McNeill 2020 (C) Committee Member
Dr Michael Milmore 2021 (A) Equality Champion
Dr Miomir Milovanovic 2020 (E) Committee Member
Dr Judith Mirsky 2018 (C) Higher Trainee Representative
Dr Josephine O'Reilly 2016 (C) Committee Member
Dr Philip Osborne 2020 (RRO) Regional Representative
Dr Pamela Peters 2020 (E) Committee Member
Dr Beena Rajkumar 2022 Regional Representative
Dr Florian Ruths 2018 (E) Committee Member
Dr Padakkara Saju 2018 (E) Committee Member
Dr Dinesh Sinha 2018 (E) Committee Member
Dr Catherine Smith 2016 (RRO) Regional Representative
Dr Gerti Stegen 2020 (C) Committee Member
Dr Sebastiao Viola 2020 (C) Committee Member
Dr Svetlin Vrabtchev 2013 (C) Committee Member
Dr Christopher Walsh 2021 PTC Rep
Dr Andy Williams 2021 Committee Member
Miss Grace Wood 2020 (A) Committee Member

  • To advance both within and without the College all modalities of psychotherapy (cognitive behavioural, psychodynamic and systemic) as an integral part of psychiatry
  • To improve public knowledge of psychotherapy in the treatment of mental illness
  • To increase theoretical and clinical knowledge of psychotherapy in the training of psychiatrists
  • To promote research in psychotherapy.

We will advance these aims by:

We are committed to furthering understanding of, and advancing appropriate psychological treatment for, diverse forms of human distress and disorder.

The approach to understanding people and the systems within which they are located integrates biological, psychological and social levels of explanation, and pays special attention to the significance of relationships in a lifespan developmental perspective. This is an approach to understanding and promoting wellbeing, as well as shaping and informing interventions for ill-health and social dysfunction. We recognise the potential significance of trauma and transitions in mental illness and of resilience in mental health.

We seek to teach and disseminate this perspective both within and outside the College, and to ensure it is embedded in the training and practice of psychiatry. We encourage and support research in psychotherapy and related fields. We are committed to raising public awareness of the profound importance of relationships throughout development and in treatment.

In all this we work collaboratively with our patients and with their families and friends, respecting their privacy and dignity, as well as with other colleagues, professions and organisations.

We support clinicians to deliver this approach across a range of settings including:

  1. The direct delivery of clinical care to individuals to promote their recovery from mental distress
  2. The targeting of psychological and social interventions to reduce distress in families, in communities, and in the broader systems in which an individual lives
  3. The provision of clinical supervision to raise the quality of health care
  4. The provision of robust clinical governance frameworks for psychological therapy services
  5. The training of undergraduate and postgraduate medical staff
  6. The development and maintenance of psychological, social and cultural health in
  7. The promotion of public understanding of mental health.

Sign in to the members' section to join our faculty or update your details.

If you would like to get in touch please email us.

Read more to receive further information regarding a career in psychiatry