About the Faculty of Liaison Psychiatry

Executive committee

Member Year of joining Position
Dr Alexander Thomson 2023 (E) Chair
Dr Elizabeth Sampson 2023 (E) Vice Chair
Dr Marc Mandell 2023 (E) Financial Officer
Dr Chloe Beale 2021 (E) Committee Member
Dr Janet Butler 2023 (C) Committee Member
Dr Sanjukta Das 2021 (E) Committee Member
Dr Sarah Eales 2015 (C) Committee Member
Dr Renata Fialho 2022 (C) Committee Member
Dr Anna Fryer 2023 (E) Committee Member
Dr Ruth Garcia Rodriguez 2022 (C) Committee Member
Mr Shaun Hare 2021 (C) Committee Member
Dr Adam Hickson 2021 (C) Sustainability Champion
Dr Mutaz Hussain 2021 (E) Committee Member
Dr Mohamed Ibrahim 2022 (C) Committee Member
Dr Akhtar Khan 2022 (C) Wales
Dr William Lee 2024 (C) Committee Member
Dr Deon Louw 2022 (C) Committee Member
Ms Emma McAllister 2017 (A) Patient/Carer Representative
Dr Isabel McMullen 2021 (E) Committee Member
Dr Nida Munawar 2022 (C) Committee Member
Dr Ross Overshott 2021 (C) Committee Member
Dr Maria Paz Timiraos 2022 (C) Committee Member
Dr Emma Phillips 2020 (C) Committee Member
Dr Sotirios Posporelis 2023 (C) SAC Chair
Dr Annabel Price 2023 (C) Immediate Past Chair
Dr Emily Rackley 2023 (C) PTC Rep
Ms Rebecca Ramsey 2021 (C) Committee Member
Dr Laurence Reed 2023 (E) Committee Member
Dr Amrit Sachar 2021 (E) Equality Champion
Ms Janet Seale 2023 (A) Carers Representative
Dr Prakash Shankar 2020 (C) Scotland
Dr Sri Sira Mahalingappa 2023 (E) Committee Manager
Dr Murray Smith 2021 (E) Committee Member
Prof. Tayyeb Tahir 2023 (E) Committee Member
Dr Cathy Tran 2023 (C) Committee Member
Dr Birgit Westphal 2023 (C) Committee Member
Dr Maytal Wolfe 2024 (C) Committee Member
Dr Michael Yousif 2023 (E) Committee Member

Until the 1970s, specific liaison psychiatry services were virtually unknown in Britain. A small number of specialised consultant posts were then established but there was no officially recognised body to represent liaison psychiatry.

Informal discussions between interested clinicians took place in the early 1980s and a consensus emerged that liaison psychiatry would be best served by establishing a group within the College.

A preliminary meeting was held during the College quarterly meeting in Oxford in 1983 followed by a further meeting during the AGM in Edinburgh in 1984. The College then agreed to recognise liaison psychiatry as a special interest group and it became a faculty in 1997.

Liaison psychiatry is a GMC recognised subspecialty of general adult and old age psychiatry.

The paediatric liaison network is an international group of child and adolescent psychiatrists who work with paediatric staff. We discuss clinical and non-clinical issues, particularly policy and the promotion of mental health in paediatric practice.

We meet in conferences in various UK locations twice a year.

If you are interested in joining, please email us.

PLN web resource

The paediatric liaison network has set up a web resource for clinical trainees interested in Paediatric Liaison Psychiatry.

Find out more

Sign in to the members' section to join our faculty or update your details.

If you would like to share material with our faculty members, please email us.
Read more to receive further information regarding a career in psychiatry