ECTAS standards

The accreditation standards have been drawn from key documents including the ECT Handbook (Royal College of Psychiatrists, 2013), the NICE Appraisal of ECT (National Institute of Clinical Excellence, 2003) and the Scottish National Audit of ECT (CRAG Working Group on Mental Illness, 2000).

They have been subject to extensive consultation with all professional group involved in ECT and with service users and their representatives.

What the ECTAS Standards cover

The standards are intended to provide staff with a clear and comprehensive description of best practice in the administration of ECT. They are reviewed in October every year and published in December.

The standards cover the following topics:

  • The ECT Clinic and Facilities
  • Staff and Training
  • Assessment and Preparation
  • Consent and Information Giving
  • Anaesthetic Practice
  • The Administration of ECT
  • Recovery, Monitoring and Follow-up
  • Special Precautions
  • Protocols
  • Clinics Practising Nurse-Administered ECT (added in Thirteenth Edition, 2016)



Get in contact to receive further information regarding a career in psychiatry