Mental Health Act S12 (2) AC approvals

On behalf of the Department of Health TEWV manages the contract for the Department of Health (DH) approvals function under the Mental Health Act 1983, (as amended 2007) for both Section 12(2) doctors and approved clinicians (AC) in the north of England. The panel covers the North East, North West and Yorkshire regions.

All Section 12 and AC approvals enquires should be sent directly to NEAP. Contact information provided below:


North of England Approvals Panel
West Park Hospital
Edward Pease Way
Co Durham
Tel: 01325 552391
All email enquiries to be sent to:
Website: Mental Health Act S12 (2) AC approvals NEAP 

Panel Chair for North of England:

Dr Gill Bell

Panel Vice Chairs:

Dr Mischa Mockett (North West)
Vacant  (Yorkshire)

Approvals Manager:

Allison Mosley

There are also approx. 60 panel members across the North of England.

NEAP Team Members:

Jayne Wall, Coordinator – Tel: 01325 552389 covering Yorkshire & North West (initials A – E)

Marjorie Wilson, Coordinator – Tel: 01325 552388 covering North East & North West (initials F – L )

Paula Hodgman, Coordinator – Tel: 01325 552387 covering North West (initials M – Z) 

Areas covered:

Yorkshire: North Yorkshire, East Riding of Yorkshire, South Yorkshire, West Yorkshire 
North East: County Durham, Northumberland, Tyne and Wear 
North West: Cheshire, Cumbria, Greater Manchester, Lancashire, Merseyside

Read more to receive further information regarding a career in psychiatry