Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
The Royal College of Psychiatrists Improving the lives of people with mental illness


The main specialities in psychiatry are represented by College Faculties and Special Interest Groups. You can read more about the faculties below.





How to join


Faculties are ‘recognised specialties’, with higher training schemes leading to a Certificate of Completion of Training from the General Medical Council. They are listed in College Bye Laws and need approval from the Annual Meeting and Privy Council to be set up or disbanded.


The definitions for Faculties and are set out in the College Bye-Laws and Regulations. A member of the College can join whichever Faculty or Special Interest Group they choose, and can be a member of more than one at a time. 


The fact that a College member belongs to a particular Faculty or Special Interest Group does not necessarily mean that they work in that field. Equally, it is not a requirement for any psychiatrist to belong to a particular Faculty to work in that area of psychiatry.



Specialty Advisory Committees


The College has introduced Specialty Advisory Committees (SACs) to replace the Faculty Education & Curriculum Committee structure.


SACs advise on higher specialist training by contributing to the development of training to standards set by the GMC, the College and the Specialty Faculty in a number of areas.


If you are interested in getting involved, find more information here and contact Specialty Training  for more information




Back to top

Login - Members Area

If you don't have an account please Click here to Register

Make a Donation

To join a Faculty
Update your Faculty details
(members' login required)