College bursaries, lectures and prizes

This pages provides a list of the main College prizes, bursaries and lectures.

However, there are many others managed by our Faculties, Special Interest Groups, Devolved Nations and English Divisions. Please visit these individual sections of our website to find updates on specialty and region-specific prizes, bursaries and lectures.

Information on nominations for Clinical Excellence Awards can be found on our Clinical Excellence Awards page.

Please note that this page only shows applications that are currently open.

The RCPsych Awards is an annual award ceremony recognising talented individuals and teams across a spectrum of mental health services. Visit the RCPsych Awards pages for more information. 

Applications for the Morris Markowe Public Education Prize 2022 are now open.

What is the Morris Markowe Public Education Prize?

The Morris Markowe Public Education Prize is a yearly award for pieces of public information on the topic of psychiatry.

An award of £1,000 will be made to the successful entrant.

Who is the prize open to?

The prize is open to all members of the College, including trainees. An individual may submit one entry a year. Joint entries are accepted, so long as one of the authors is a member of the College, or a trainee.

What can be entered?

The Morris Markowe Prize is awarded annually for:

  • an original article on a psychiatric topic of no more than 800 words, aimed at the general public and suitable for publication in a national/local newspaper, lay journal, or on the internet


  • an article on a psychiatric topic of no more than 800 words, aimed at the general public and published between May 2020 and April 2021 in a national/local newspaper, lay journal, or on the internet


  • a podcast or some other piece of digital media, on a psychiatric topic aimed at the general public, around 10 minutes in length or no more than 800 words.

How are entries judged?

Entries will be judged on their readability, originality and newsworthiness from the viewpoint of the general public or lay reader, by Professor Wendy Burn, Chair of the Public Engagement Editorial Board, patient and carer representatives and key College staff.

How should entries be submitted?

Entries should be submitted to and should include:

  1. The name of the author


  2. A link to the article or digital media


  3. The article or digital media as an attachment if it hasn’t been published, indicating the target publication/audience (e.g. a local newspaper)

When do entries close?

Entries for the prize close at midnight on Thursday 24 November 2022.

Previous Morris Markowe prize winners

The prize was established in 1989 from funds donated in the memory of the late Dr Morris Markowe, Honorary Fellow, and Registrar of the Royal College of Psychiatrists from 1972-78.

This competition is now closed. Please do join us at the prize-winners' webinar on 11th March.

Thanks to a generous donation from one of our Honorary Fellows, we are excited to announce an essay competition to celebrate the unique contribution that UK psychiatrists have made to the pandemic.  

The competition is open to core and higher trainees in psychiatry, SAS psychiatrists within five years of training and newly appointed consultants within their first 12 months of being on the specialist register. 

Four prizes will be offered of £250 each to the best essay as well as the opportunity to present your essay and be part of a panel discussion at one of the highly regarded RCPsych webinars on the following topic: 

‘How the COVID Pandemic has taught me to be a better doctor/psychiatrist’

This competition is open to:

  • core and higher trainees in psychiatry
  • SAS psychiatrists within 5 years of training
  • new consultants within their first 12 months of being on the specialist register at the closing date.


  • Essays of up to 1,500 words (including references) to be submitted by midnight on 31 January 2021 to
  • Please include ‘Pandemic Essay Prize’ as the subject line of your email.
  • You are required to include in your submission how you would spend the money to improve your practice or address the impact of the pandemic.
  • Entries will be judged by a panel consisting of the Dean and some of our most esteemed Honorary Fellows.
  • The winner will be notified by mid-February 2021.

The webinar will take place in March 2021 to coincide with the anniversary of the UK first going into national lockdown.

  • Category A - where a Faculty, SiG or Division takes complete responsibility for a prize and the Department of Professional Standards is involved only in providing initial guidance on setting up a prize, no administrative charge need be included in the prize costings.
  • Category B - where the Department of Professional Standards is involved in additional administrative work, including the invitation of prizewinners to the Annual Meeting presentation ceremony, a charge of £200 will be made.
  • Category C - where the Department of Professional Standards provides ALL administrative services, including the above, in the administration of a College prize - this could include setting up examinations, finding examiners etc,the administrative charge will be £300.

If applicable, these costs should be included within the budget accompanying the prize proposal.

Roll of honour

Our roll of honour gives a list of all College Officers from 1971 and all our Prize, Fellowship, Award and Medal winners.

Read more to receive further information regarding a career in psychiatry