The Equivalence Committee

The Equivalence Committee is a Committee of ETC who's main purpose is to monitor the standards of, create guidance for and assess CESR applications for specialist registration in Psychiatry. 

Outside of this initial remit, committee members will also be called upon to advise in relation to wider issues of equivalence within Psychiatry and will work with the International Division with regards to the review of international Postgraduate Qualifications (PGQs) for eligibility for full registration on the GMC Medical Register. The Committee will also work with advising and guiding the GMC with regards to suggested changes and improvements to the various systems of equivalence that exist both inside and outside of formal training schemes. 

Committee Oversight 

The committee has a main Chair and Deputy Chair but also aim to have 6 specialty advisors for each psychiatry specialty to provide clear and direct specialist advice and insight to ensure each specialty is properly represented. 

Only existing committee members can apply to be specialty advisors and they are required to have completed a minimum of 1 active year on the Equivalence committee. 

Professor Nandini ChakrabortyChair
Dr Kathy LeightonDeputy Chair
Dr Chris Bools CESR Specialty Advisor for Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
Dr Purvesh MadhaniCESR Specialty Advisor for Forensic Psychiatry
Dr Kuben NaidooCESR Specialty Advisor for General Adult Psychiatry
Dr Scott CherryCESR Specialty Advisor for Old Age Psychiatry
VacantCESR Specialty Advisor for Psychiatry of Intellectual Disability
VacantCESR Specialty Advisor for Medical Psychotherapy

Equivalence Committee remit can be found here. 

If you're interested in joining the committee there information can be found on the Become a CESR Evaluator page. 

Committee Members 

Please see below for a list of Committee members, this is not the full committee list but those who have consented to sharing their details.

Dr Osama HammerGeneral PsychiatrySussex Partnership Foundation Trust
Dr Declan HylandGeneral PsychiatryMersey Care NHS Foundation Trust
Dr Maire CooneyGeneral Psychiatry (Rehabilitation)NHS Lanarkshire
Dr Ruchit SoodGeneral PsychiatryBetsi Cadwaladar University Health Board